Help at a non-profit educational farm in Whitegate, county Clare, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 110 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    93.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our farm is a charity and our mission is to share knowledge of health, happiness, sustainability and service.We promote health include an organic garden with medicinal herbs, apple trees and berry bushes, classes in vegetarian cooking and daily yoga to promote the unity of body mind and spirit.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn how grow and maintain your future garden - about the cycle of life, earth and soil. We are in the process of transforming the old farm into an eco sustainable community based on the principles of NeoHumanism, love and respect for all plants and animals as well as people.

    You can join daily morning yoga and meditation class as well as chanting.

    We are located located in the Slieve Aughty mountains overlooking Lough Derg, the 2nd longest lake in Ireland.

  • Help

    Help

    we need help with gardening according to season - in summer and autumn watering, berry picking and weeding. Winter weeding, bushes and trees maintaing. Spring planting, watering, weeding.
    we also need help with building such as building fences, painting, maintenance etc.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Food and accommodation is provided in exchange of help 4.5h per day 5 days a week.

    Our diet is fully vegetarian, mostly plant based.

    We have 2 rooms with bank beds, one family room with double bed in the main house and two other outside rooms with double beds.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our farm and our life style supports no animal harming and for that reason we are vegetarians.
    We don't drink alcohol or smoke as it doesn't fit with our daily yoga and meditation practices, which anyone is welcome to join.

    During the free time there is plenty of lovely walks around. If you love animals, our neighbour has lots of horses and we have 5cats and 1 dog.
    During the good weather we go swimming to the lake every day. And for new comers there is always a planned trip to Cliffs of Moher as it's only about 1.5h far from the farm.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4.5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 873377947284