Help with gardening, permaculture, house maintenance, language practice in Ciocotis, Romania

  • Favourited 118 times
  • Last activity: 17 Apr 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are Guiselle (65) from Guatemala (Central America) and Hans Jürgen (65) from Germany. We are friendly and open minded people. Before we came to Romania we lived in Czech Republic, Germany and France. We have already experiences with travellers/helpers.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are going to install an organic vegetable garden (permaculture), make our own bread and preserve food for winter. Our cooking is international. We prefer vegetarian food, but we eat meat, too. There is a dog, cats and chickens.
    You can learn self-suffience.
    We speak German, English, French, Spanish and starting Romanian.
    We would appreciate an opportunity to learn and practise the Romanian language. My wife (she was a teacher) can offer you lessons or conversation in German, English, or Spanish.

  • Help

    Help

    The help here can include general chores in the house (cleaning, dishwashing, washing, cooking, and baking, preparing food for conservation) and around the house, especially in the organic garden (gardening: seeding, planting, weeding, and watering the plants).

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    Guiselle can teach you English, French, Spanisch, German. We are interested to learn Romanian.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a bed in an own room in our house. You share bathroom and kitchen with us. The accommodation is really in family style :) but we are very friendly.
    We live close to a Romanian family on the same ground.
    Internet in the house is available (Wi-fi).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    What do we expect from our volunteers:

    Only non-smokers, no animals.
    We expect nice and polite behaviour and willingness to do some work. Please count on becoming part of the family for the time of your stay!
    We live in a small village without many possibilities for distraction. If you come from a city, you should be able to appreciate the calm and the solitude.
    Because we are not a "big" place we prefer short-time (term) stays: weekend or one week, but we are open for other possibilities.
    The village of Ciocotis is situated about 35 km south from Baia Mare, Maramures region.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 873297366391

Feedback

Join an international team at our non-profit animal shelter in Cernavoda, Romania
Help us to restore a beautiful old house with natural materials in Iernut, Romania