Help alternative family with house and garden in Hunedoara, Romania

Country

Romania

updated  

Favourited 101 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello friends!

    We are a young family (Matias 27, Jennifer 29, Emilia 2, Kian 0, Dog Dimti 4) that has found a new home here in the hills of Romania, surrounded by beautiful people and nature. We just built a house in an old abandoned village in Romania.
    Matias is from Finland and Jennifer is German. We met in Spain and since then we were travelling through Europe (by car, train, hitchhiking).
    When our daughter Emilia was 4 months old we moved into a campervan and continued traveling (all the way down to Greece and back up to Romania).
    In Greece we started being more interested in living in an alternative community, growing our own food, being closer to nature. We want to go our own way, not the way society wants us to go. Our lifestyle means taking more responsibility over ourselves and how to raise our kids. We don't want to pass our responsibility on to kindergarten, school, doctors etc.
    Jenny just gave birth at home to our son Kian.

    We came to the abandoned village Bratea in May 2018 as volunteers, but quickly decided we would like to join the developing community, buy a piece of land and build our own house. There's currently 2 households in our little valley who are also on workaway. So it is very possible to meet other travellers and workawayers here. We even sometimes have dinner together or a campfire.
    There's also other neighbours kind of close by and some friends that want to move here. If you're looking for a place to stay yourself, you could even find it here. There are some houses for sale in the valley.

    Our house is a cob house with a wooden structure. The walls are done and we already sleep in the house but plastering the walls will be a big task as soon as they are dry enough.
    As well we want to build a polyhouse/greenhouse.

    For the garden a lot of weeding and mulching is needed.
    There are vegetables growing but still lots of work to do.
    In the future we would like to work more and more in harmony with nature, in a permaculture way.

    You would sleep in a tent, use a compost toilet, take water from a well, because there is no running water yet. For warm water the water has to be heated up on our gas stove.
    Of course food will be provided (we still go to the supermarkets). We don't eat meat.
    If you know about wild edible plants we would love for you to come and show us. We know some but there are so much more to explore.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    In our valley we are like a small community, growing and developing. You can be a part of this and experience our way of living and helping. Most of the time there are travellers/workawayers in the valley (from our neighbours) so you can connect to others easily.
    Since we learn as we go, we can only teach you what we learned so far but I think it's anyway much more important to learn from your own mistakes. So come, let's make some together and work them out to improve.

    In our family we speak english, german, swedish, finnish and spanish. Other languages in the valley are dutch, french, and some romanian. Any language you want to practice?

  • Help

    Help

    - plastering the walls of our house
    - seeding & planting (in spring), weeding & mulching the garden
    - building a green house, cold frames
    - clearing around our property

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    german, finnish, english, swedish, spanish, learning romanian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a tent for volunteers. Do you want to bring your own tent/yurt/etc. and find a nice place? No problem. We could even figure out something if you think of staying in your campervan. The road up the hill was repaired so it's okay to drive when it's not too wet.

    We offer you a really off-grid experience where you could train your survival skills. ;) Sleeping in a tent, using a compost toilet, taking water from a well, because there is no running water yet. Warm water has to be heated up on a gas stove.
    Please bring your own sleeping bag if you have one. Also warm clothes and good shoes would be preferable for autumn/winter/spring.
    Electricity/Wifi: Got it (finally) ;)

    Of course food will be provided, some even from our garden already (we still go to the supermarkets).
    We usually have dinner together with you. Because of the kids we don't have a fix time to wake up, so it's easier to have breakfast on our own. Lunch is an inbetween thing. :D Sometimes we have it together, sometimes apart from each other. Breakfast and lunch usually are more simple, cereals, oats with milk/yoghurt, porridge or bread. Dinner is always something warm and at least vegetarian, if not vegan. It's not always just us who cook. Until now our volunteers as well wanted to cook or at least helped in the cooking/ cleaning process which we think is a good system.

    The day you come you don't have to work. We want you to be able to arrive in peace and to have the opportunity to look around. Of course if you decide after some time on helping a bit already, we won't complain. ;) Days off normally are Saturday and Sunday, but if you would like to not work another day just talk to us and we can figure it out. As well if you maybe would like to have a long "weekend", you can work more hours another day, if it works for us.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are in plain nature, no big streets nearby but many paths to hike!
    In the village down the hill (1km) you can find a bar and small shop, where you can connect to the locals or just spend some time off.
    Twice a day there goes a mini bus from the village to Orastie, where you have more variety of shops and entertainment if you're looking for that. The locals know the timetable.
    Hitchhiking from or to Orastie is the easiest option.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

The toolshed
A piece of our garden




Host ref number: 656435814665