Help us to create a permaculture/food forest farm and enjoy cultural exchange in Bambecque, France

Country

France

new host  

Favourited 15 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi all! I am a young lad, very interested in self-sufficiency, permaculture and a 'back to the roots' way of life. I've been travelling quite a lot to learn about that way of life. Also doing volunteer work with workaway. My brother is also very interested in these things and a bit older. Since a few months, we have bought a old farm in North of France, very close to the border of Belgium. The goal is to create a permaculture, food forest farm where we also work on the way to self-sufficiency, everything very ecologic and in tune with nature. Also we want the place to become a social, cultural meeting place where open minded people can come together to change ideas and be inspired by eachother. So whenever possible (with this situation) we will host some small events with some good music, in a natural atmosphere. A lot of good ideas for this magnificent place!
    Me and a friend, who is a very good music player, will be the first inhabitants of the project. We are still in the very beginning of the project so a lot off stuff still needs to happen. We would like to host some volunteers to get the project up and running and to create a bit of a community atmosphere between the people who are there.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Language practice
    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Because off the diversity of things that need to happen here, I hope to create an educational experience for every volunteer. you can learn a whole lot of skills here and I hope we can learn some things from you too. whether it's about this way of life or just some language practising or some other skills you got... i'm curious already.

  • Help

    Help

    The project is still in its baby shoes... We have been working a lot there to clean the mess the previous owner left us. Past month we cleaned the house so we can start living there to get some more progress. So everything still needs to be done. from basic renovating in the house to making a workshop in the barn to making a compost toilet to preparing beds in the garden to harvesting and storing the fruit from the big trees that are already there, to making the yard more beautiful and biodiversity-friendly. Also a lot off trees will have to be cut to make space for other food forest trees that we want to plant this autumn/winter. So we have a lot to do :)
    Because there is such a diversity of things to do here, i want to try and create a atmosphere where everybody feels empowered to do the stuff they want to learn or like to do the most. I really love when a volunteer comes with a new idea, enthousiastic and empowered to create something beautiful.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    On the farm, there is a big house from the year 1769 with more than enough space for a few volunteers. It is very old but all the basic needs are there. there is also a lot off space to put some tents in summer. There is also a small renting house which can be for volunteers when it's free.
    For 25 hours of work a week
    you get free food and accomodation during your stay. Note that the food will be vegan/vegetarian. If
    you like some meat to the side you can get it in the shop. But as a project, we don't support the meat industry. Also some coöperation with the cooking is appreciated.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Your free time can be discussed with us so you can enjoy your stay to the fullest. The neighbourhood is really calm, Lille is approximately 30 kms away and so is the sea.
    A normal working day will look something like this over here:
    8:30 breakfast
    9:30 start working
    12:00 preparing an easy lunch
    13:30-14:00 starting the work again
    by 19h we try to eat a big meal together. But don't worry, the schedule is not always too strict ;)
    Also we will try to do a
    discussion every week about what we want to do this week. Communication is really important here, everything can
    be discussed. Open communication is the key to living together.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    there is space enough for every van.

  • Can possibly acccept pets

    Can possibly acccept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours/week, 2 days off

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 784375562113