Come and help in the garden of our family home and enjoy life in Uckfield, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 139 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/10/2022

  • Badges

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My family and I have recently moved to a house in East Sussex which we are renovating. It’s a big house with large garden in a rural village. We have almost finished the house inside but the outside is a mess and we need lots of help. We are interested to hear from anyone who is willing to do physical work - mainly in the garden - there is a lot of digging to be done and cutting / stacking logs. We would also be really keen to hear from anyone with any construction/ landscaping / carpentry experience.

    We can offer a lovely room with double bed, your own bathroom and food. We are a family with two children (aged 8 and 10) a dog and cat and live in a friendly village where there’s a pub, lots of beautiful walks and a regular bus to Brighton.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can help you with your English if that is what you are looking for. Through the work outside we will be learning together to make a beautiful and productive garden.

    You will have plenty of free time to enjoy the local countryside - there are lots of walks which start right from our property which we can show you. You’ll be able to explore nearby towns such as Brighton and the beautiful, historic town of Lewes, which is only three miles and a short bus journey away.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We’d love to hear from anyone who doesn’t mind working outside on physical tasks. There’s lots of gardening to be done, including a piece of land which we want to turn into a kitchen garden. Anyone with carpentry, construction or landscaping experience would be really useful to us.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private room and own bathroom. Evening meal included.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Happy to have another dog that is likely to get on with our dog that would be great. The garden is not secure though and there are cows in the neighbouring field.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    2-3 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 867737715454