Cosy home in Tooting, South London, UK with myself and my 3 furry mutts!


United Kingdom


Favourited 331 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 41 days

Contact Register

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

  • Description


    Come stay in my cosy home in Tooting, South London (zone 3) with myself and my 3 furry mutts! (voted one of lonely planet's top 10 neighbourhoods in the world to live in!)

    I'm a 37 year old single, female professional working as a consultant in procurement and business transformation which can often lead to long hours.

    I have until recently been hosting a young refugee in my spare room but he is moving on to a new home and a new chapter in the uk so I now have some space to offer in my home for a workaway.

    I'm looking for someone reliable who can commit 5 hours daily from Monday to Friday and is interested in a genuine exchange of culture and skills. My current focus is on general dog care, house care, gardening and DIY. Practical dog related skills are a must, and a willingness to learn some new skills. Preference will be given to volunteers who possess useful and needed skills (ideally experience training or working with dogs, volunteering with rescue animals, carpentry, gardening, cleaning, DIY and decorating etc) and initiative.

    IMPORTANT: You must be at least 24 years old, have at least one positive Workaway review (previous Host feedback) and be able to commit to at least one month after an initial trial period of a week, please be sure to check the calendar before applying.

    We live on a quiet street with allotments at one end and easy transport links into central London at the other end. Within 2 minutes walk there are a number of little convenience stores and post office and a lovely little Portuguese shop which sells the best pasteis del nata and also very kindly sells meringues for me. (I make these as a little side business when I have time)

    I have three beautiful rescue dogs who love attention and cuddles, as well as walks in the local parks and nature reserves and all workawayers must help with the pet care, clean up after them and ensure they have a clear, fixed routine.

    Rupert is an 11 year old foxhound mix, who thinks he's a lot smaller than he really is and will try to sit on your lap. He loves the rain and the outdoors and running but is terrified of cars (he was abandoned by a motorway) and always pretends to be deaf when it's home time on walks.
    Abby is a 4 year old harrier beagle who will flop over on her back in front of you begging for tummy rubs and steal food if given half the chance. She's not a big fan of cold weather or rain but loves going off the lead in the allotments and if you have sausages (I always do), she will actually come back when you call her. She does get a bit nervous about food and doesn't like to share so we always give her her space when she's eating because she was starved and beaten before she came to me.
    Maddie is a 2 year old french pointer who runs faster than I've ever seen any object move, she is literally a blur off the lead and she comes back sometimes but also not at all if she finds a fox. Mentally she's a pup still so would benefit from consistency and a little sausage based training.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I'm more than happy to help with English studies. We have a great local college only 10 minutes away by bus that does languages as well as art courses, vocational courses and all kinds of extras. The rest of the time is your own to explore our historic market and local area, all the wonders London has to offer.

  • Help


    I'm looking for someone reliable who will commit 5 hours daily to taking care of the dogs, basic household chores and small garden projects. You must be awake for dog feeding time (7am), give the dogs time in the garden, tidy and clean up after them and then also at the end of the day (5pm) take them all for walks and feed them again.

    Because of my work travel, I need someone who is able to help from Monday to Friday and willing to stay in the property overnight when I'm not here. I cannot consider workaways who plan to be away overnight and will not accept bringing guests back. Daytime guests are possible if pre agreed.

    The dogs will try to break the rules so you need to be someone who is confident, but gentle around medium and large dogs (they've all had a few nasty scares in their life before being rescued). They will also destroy furniture for attention if you ignore them when you're in the house. I need people who are happy to spend their free time at home sharing the sofa or garden with the dogs if I'm not home, instead of staying in their room.

    There's a bit of housework required also. This includes, daily mopping of the downstairs, changing and washing sofa covers, cleaning food bowls, putting away dog food deliveries and twice a week hoovering etc.

    If you are honest, full of energy and enthusiasm, over 24 years old, have at least one positive Workaway review (previous Host feedback), and have plenty of independence you will be welcome to help and learn (and teach) in this home.

    I will give priority to people who are able to volunteer for at least a month, but suggest that volunteers come for one week at first, then if it all works out we can neg the duration of the stay. You will need to be aged 24 or over, physically fit and personally motivated. We do not host families, or groups of friends traveling together as we don’t have the space for this and the dogs aren’t used to children.

    If you're interested in outdoor work and gardening, please get in touch as the allotment plot I've just been given hasn't been touched for 20 years. We’ve so far cleared the plot and are starting to build a fence and plan a bbq area and beds. The ultimate plan is to get the allotment cleared of all rubbish and weeds, and a pallet fence up on 2 sides pretty quickly so the dogs can come down to the allotment with us while we build beds and paths and plan out crops to turn a bramble patch into a fun, beautiful and productive space.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, some french

  • Accommodation


    The accommodation offered is a small double room in a 3 bed mid terrace house on a quite cul de sac street with some really lovely neighbours. We have an eat in kitchen, living room with plenty of books (and dogs), a large rear patio garden and free parking on our street in front of the property.

    The bedroom is probably meant to be a single but I've managed to do some clever things with storage to fit in a very comfy double bed, chest of drawers and hanging wardrobe.

    Use of the communal bathroom and kitchen. Communal areas must be kept clean and tidy at all times. Bedding and towels provided and use of the washing machine and dryer, we also have a fast broadband connection that you can connect to.

    You are welcome to use the kitchen facilities to prepare your own meals on the condition that you keep it clean both as you're cooking, and thoroughly afterwards, so that others may enjoy using the kitchen either at the same time or later - I'm very strict about this - so please take note!

    Food is provided, but please note alcohol is not included and if you wish to drink in the evenings, you will be required to buy your own.

    Please be aware that no drug use will not be tolerated in this household.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The core help I need is split across the day to line up with feeding times for the dogs. This is basically just over an hour around 7am in the morning, and then 3 hours from 5 to 8pm in the evening. As such I can only take workaways with part time study or work as meal times for the dogs cannot be moved.

    All workawayers must have experience with dogs to be considered, preferably rescues, though that's not essential and please note due to my dogs boisterous behaviour and our accommodation limitations, I am not able to consider families, children, or groups.

    Smokers are welcome to smoke outside in the garden, or vape inside as we’re in the process of becoming a smoke free home. :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 567128718741