Help with work in our garden for sailing experience in the Solent around Southampton UK

Country

Spain

Favourited 207 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    53.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 14 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi I am an English sailor and an English teacher by profession living in Southampton UK. I am married with 2 sons and love to play tennis, football and play the guitar. We live in in non-smoking house with my wife ( we don't have any pets or any particular dietary constraints) Southampton University is 3 minutes walk and then city centre is not far . My wife is also a English teacher so the volunteer will have access to two people who can help them improve their Language skills. What I am looking for is person or persons who is (are) fit and active and happy to work with their hands. No experience is necessary but should have good hand eye coordination and not be afraid to work with power tools.


    I need help in two ways. Firstly we are reconsrtcting our garden so mornigg time would be working mainly alone oin the garden.

    If you have good mechnical skills then I need help in re-assembling a 30hp marine Volvo diesel engine which is in pieces in my garage


    Afternoons would be free and some early evening and weekends would be sailing with me in my 24ft boat to interesting destinations im the Solent.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Will learn some basic boat building/maintenance skills have access to the delights of the south coast of the UK and will do some some off shore l sailing with an RYA qualified skipper

  • Help

    Help

    I am looking for someone who is practical and can help me prepare a 36 foot sailing yacht for launching at the beginning of August 2019. We will be sanding, painting , some fiber glass work and some installation of various bits and pieces. Once afloat the volunteer(s) can enjoy some off shore sailing

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English Spanish Russian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Living on the boat

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I have 20 years of sailing experience and a yacht master qualification and the volunteer will be provided with full safety equipment and safety will be a priority when working on the boat and while sailing

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Big intial push to get boat ready then full on sailing there on (max 25 hours)

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.7)

Cultural exchange: (4.3)

Communication: (4.0)






Host ref number: 443715673714