Come to our family and explore the local area in Castle Douglas, United Kingdom

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 17 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of three. Myself and my two children who are 5 (Jay) and 8 years old (Jessie). We live in rural Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland and love the outdoors. Our house is in the country but close to busses and towns for social fun. We also love our two cats, Tom and Tilly! We love to travel, eat, ride bikes, run! The kids are great fun and very happy children. Jessie loves to read, sew, play with makeup, hair, Barbies, Harry Potter, Mindcraft.... all of it! Jay loves his football, swings, bike, swords...All the boy things! I am a marathon runner so I train in my spare time. I work during the week so childcare gets to be tough!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You would be seen as a family member for the time that you share with us. The children are very fun and polite so they wouldn’t give you any trouble. They are very smart and well behaved (mostly!!). I am happy to help you to see more of Scotland as you wish to on weekends or when your time with us is over. We live in a good spot to see local beauty as well as travelling on to the North of Scotland or Ireland. I have once been an Au Pair in USA, so I understand what it’s like to be a young person in a new country - We would take very good care of you! We only need about a month of help, which is more than enough to take in the local area.

  • Help

    Help

    I need childcare from July 25th-Aug 22. I go to work during the day and need someone to be around for the kids until about 4pm or 5pm. Playing at the house, doing crafts, messing around, trips to the forest, beach, park etc..... - whatever keeps them happy!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a 5 bedroom country house with a nice sized garden. You would of course, have your own bedroom but share a bathroom with the family as we have only one full bathroom and a 1/2 bathroom. We would expect for you to share the kitchen and feel free to eat the food in it! You will be seen as a family guest and therefore are welcome to feel at home. We have a small home gym as well, great for those who like to workout!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    On your time off I can help you as much as I can with being dropped off at trains etc. Taxis are available when I cant. Busses pass the house regularly. There are so many places to see locally - Kirkcudbright is a beautiful town where the children go to school, but there are many local towns which are seen as tourist spots. Lots of beaches, forests, hill climbing, horse riding etc.... Glasgow and Edinburgh are both an hour train ride away. Manchester is a 2 hour train. The Lake District for bigger hill climbing is a train journey too.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 867175972742