Come and help a Dutch family in Papakura, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 3 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/12/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a working and studying family, consisting of mum and grownup kids, who like meeting new people. We speak English, but also Dutch and are happy to teach you some Dutch phrases, if you like. Our place is in the middle of a rural little village, yet close to town (15-20 kilometres away) and beaches (8-15 kms away).

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We’re a Dutch Kiwi family, who just like to meet new people. We’re members of a local church that’s quite active in the community, if that has your interest. We live in the middle of Auckland, yet rural, in a quaint little village. I like to light up my ozpig (little cast iron outdoor wood stove/ barbecue), but my kids don’t care for it much, so I hope you do :-)

  • Help

    Help

    We have a garden that we can’t keep up with, it needs weeding, the hedge and palms need trimming, and if you happen to be here when the builder comes to build the fence we’d love some help with that too. If you’re quite handy with power tools, we’d like to make a little shelter, but the garden maintenance is the main thing. There is no more then 2 or 3 weeks work in the garden, at the most.
    If you have some building skills (said shelter), know how to do paving, then there is a bit more.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A fairly new one-bedroom granny flat that is completely yours to use and has its own entrance. The bed is 2 singles next to each other. If your work away travel partner is a snorer, we can set up an extra bed in the living room ;-)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is no public transportation in the village, we’re happy to pick you up from bus/train/domestic airport. We’re walking distance from the local shops (2 dairies, craft shop, souvenir and gift shops, hairdresser, medical centre, and takeaways/cafe/pub. (That’s all)
    There are plenty of parks and beaches around the area (you’ll need a car to reach them), lots to explore if you like nature. Shopping centres are about a 20 minute drive away. I have a busy job, but I’m happy to drop you off at places.
    We are around a lot as we work from home (for a national children’s charity) and study (midwifery and high school) local. We have some bikes, but they need servicing, if you can do that, you’re welcome to use them. There’s lots of places around for hikes, and for fishing (we have some rods for you to use, they probably need lines, but there’s a tackle and bait shop in the village for that) or swimming. You’ll have our granny flat to yourself, we can cook for you, or you for us, or a bit of both, whatever works.
    We like to eat as a family but with a midwifery student who attends births, and a high school student during exam time and 2 jobs, this does not always happen.
    We have a puppy Cocker Spaniel called Tove, and 2 cats (Josie who is nearly 4, and Janneke who is 22) and at times a second puppy, a malinois, who comes home with my son every 10 days.
    We normally have the flat on the rental and we have a name for having it ‘sparkling clean’, we’d like you to leave it behind like that (that won’t be hard, I promise).
    If you are domestically inclined, there’s cleaning jobs aplenty, but really, it’s mostly about the garden.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    In our flat we have a study corner, and there is also a table. The flat is light and quiet and the internet connection is stable, vdsl at this point, and fibre is being installed as we speak.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a long driveway and have had large vans, but you need to be comfortable reversing in or out.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 866794124461