1 / 4

Come live with us and help us with harvest time in Motueka, New Zealand

  • New Zealand
  • Favourited 520 times
  • Last activity: 03/02/2023



 Min stay requested: 1 week or less



  • Description


    Kia ora - Hi Trish and I are looking for someone to help us from March onwards in our organic bountiful and beautiful garden and orchard on a quiet back section not far from Motueka town. Some-one who is happy to spend some time weeding vege garden, helping with cooking and household chores and hanging out with the weeds in the chicken run! We have a little dog who is non allergenic and very friendly.
    In your own time, you can look around our area, theres some great biking trails to explore and we can lend you a bike to get around on.
    Its always great to have an extra pair of hands to help with the work and share our bounteous world, and sometimes to housesit so we can get away for a few days here and there.
    We find it works best to have helpers stay initially for a week and then if its working well for you and us, then lengthen the stay if that suits.
    Give us a call if you think you might fit the bill. Single person or couple considered

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have had many helpers over the years and they all seem to have a very positive experience with us. Although we are both busy professionals, we are somewhat flexible in our working hours, so there will be times where you have some time on your own, and times we will be working, eating and living together.

  • Help


    Helping out with housework is always a blessing and we love it when we can share the food preparation.

    We are looking for some-one who is able to be self-motivated with the tasks required and willing to enter the busy rhythm of our lives for a while. Working outside under the fruit trees, helping us with some house maintenance, generally tidying up for half the day would be great. Some familiarity with gardening could be helpful!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    A very nice little sleep out in the garden for your bedroom and sharing our living areas

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Not too far from Abel Tasman National Park. 20 mins walk to our lovely sandspit where you might see spoonbills wading and godwits nesting Great biking tracks

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hrs a day with regular days off

Host ref number: 2992594194b1

Feedback (12)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Help us with building and fixing some fences and gardening in Rural Manawatu near Feilding, New Zealand
Come and enjoy some authentic kiwi lifestyle - lots of different things to do and enjoy on our lifestyle plot in Gisborne, New Zealand