Fun, Friendly Canadian family! Victoria BC, Canada

Country

Canada

updated  

Favourited 79 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    56.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 17 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of four; Debbie (Mom & artist), Ben (Dad & gardener, cook, teacher), Samantha 6, and Ruben 4.
    We are a fun and friendly Canadian family who's got a lot of free time to explore and enjoy life! We travel to beaches near and forests and enjoy activities like making art, cooking, and gardening. We have an extra room and would love to show someone the beauty of Victoria!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Help in the house
    Art project
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Ben and Deb are both Canadian English teachers and are a lot of fun! We attend cultural events and have a 7 passenger van so hope you'll come along! We spent several years traveling too, so understand the needs of people away from home.

  • Help

    Help

    We have a small garden that is wild and bountiful. We're hoping to find someone who would join our family in harvesting the veggies. Debbie could use help packaging sculptures and doing other tasks for her art business. We hope you love kids and see their beauty. We need some help with childcare, especially on Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday while Ben is teaching at forest school. We would prefer a female to join us as our kids would be more comfortable. Please join us on outings to the beach with our friendly dog Arthur. We explore nature often! Mushroom hunting in the forest, canning beans, cooking new foods. We have a fun and lively house.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our home is a 5 bedroom house. We have an extra room downstairs with a bathroom and second kitchen. We're at the end of a dead end street and our back yard boarders a large memorial park, full of trees and great to walk in. The extra room is warm and clean with a single bed and wardrobe to store your clothes. All you need to be comfortable and private!

    You're free to cook and store food in the kitchen downstairs, but you won't want to miss Ben's cooking! We love good food and lots of it! I hope you'll join us for meals when we have a lot of fun and discussion. We eat a variety of international foods (Indian, Italian, Thai, etc.) but no meat.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our house is 15 min. walk to Goldstream Village or just a bus ride away from vibrant downtown Victoria. There is so much to do in this city, we've been here 8 years and are still finding new attractions. Rock-climbing, shopping, art galleries, hikes, parks, pools, clubs, theater, museums, cafes...
    Our family goes out to these events most days and you're welcome to come and experience or go to the nearby pool and relax in the hot tub!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 866162662854