Come help us prepare our gardens for spring Merriwa, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 2 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/08/2021

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Were opening our home to workawayers wishing to come volunteer on our small acreage. We're currently working on developing the land we have to become self sustainable. Our primary goal is to feed our family and friends with the produce from our land. In previous years our children have been the extra help we need from time to time. Tina is a professional photographer that works full time at the local high school, early mornings at a local café and drives buses for the local school run. Andrew is a retired high Voltage electrician who drives busses for the local schools and weekend tours to keep himself busy.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We hope that guests will be able to enjoy their stay on our small farm and small community. Andrew is a born and bred local who has endless stories of the region and knows all the hidden gems.

  • Help

    Help

    Our aim to become self sufficient means an endless list of projects from setting up new poultry houses, moving stock, weeding vegetable gardens, fence maintenance, assistance in training new dogs, crop management. We are both travellers ourselves and our children are all local and international travellers.

  • Languages spoken

    Vietnamese: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have multiple empty bedrooms for guests as well as plenty of area for guests wishing to camp.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are a social family who often join local sporting competitions and attend other social events from time to time. We are central to several larger centres that offer a variety of tourist attractions and

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have limited wifi to offer but there is access to wireless networks if needed.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have open acreage an external washroom for anyone who chooses to reside outside the main residence

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We have many pets of our own, most are accommodating to other pets.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3-5 hours a day, average over a 5 day week


Host ref number: 865589168126