Enjoy the off-grid life on a small farm in the Pyrenees, France

Country

France

updated   Last minute

Favourited 109 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/05/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Nothing pretentious, officially a 5 acre almond farm isolated in the Pyrenees , solar and wind powered electricity, water from the bore hole, organic garden, a few chickens,geese, rabbits, bee hives and sheep, workshops small house and guesthouse .
    I've devoted my life to do (ing) it yourself every thing from solar installations to wild boar ham, tickled trout to reconditioning a JCB, greengage wine to goat cheese on good wholemeal bread etc etc etc and etc !!!
    I've lived in France for over 30 yrs, bought this piece of land in 2001, worked my ..... off getting installed then got burnt out in a bush fire 2005 and divorced....slowed me down for a while but now i'm back on my feet. i still have a lot of projects to be completed so if you feel that you could fit in and lend a hand i will be happy to hear from you.

    NB Naturisme partial or complete is possible however this is a choice and your choice will be respected !!! .... openminded debate is also a risk !!!



    Rien de pretentious, 3 hectares au bout de monde et une mode de vie quasi autonome. depuis forte longue temps je voulait pas participer au auto esclavagisme que a venu notre héritage. je finalement acheter mon chez moi en 2001 (une bout de terre avec une petit bâtiment, forage et des amandiers ) Malgré beaucoup d'empêchement je créer une paradis ....qui été raser en sept 2005 par 2000 hct de feu ! je retrancher les manches et reparti au boulot , divorce santé et problèmes judiciaire (lier au terrain) ma ralenti... procé gainer et moral bien augmenter je suis toujours très actif avec beaucoup de projets a terminer .... je peut pas être "au four et au moulin aux même temps" donc tout forme de aide serais bienvenue autant une repas en fin journée que des bras en plus avec le jardin, bêtes ou autres projets eg toiture, serre, véranda, et atelier.
    Bref c'est difficile a tout condenser, je vais simplement dire que ma vie est comme entre Crusoe et Macgyver ...avec beaucoup de vécu , poser moi des questions ça pourrait aller plus vite !

    NB. Le naturisme partielle ou total pouvais être vécu pendant votre séjour ...ceci est une choix et votre choix serait respecter !!! Je suis très ouvert d'esprit et aime debate sur tout subject !!!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I have about 45yrs of experience in many fields of self sufficiency ... my life has been quite an adventure, i'm very open minded and i enjoy exchanging the predicaments of a life off the grid over a beer and good evening meal.

    Avec mes 45 ans habitant en quasi autarcie je croie avoir le quoi fait en experiences pour échanger, très ouvert d'esprits j'adore raconter mes aventures ... off grid !!

  • Help

    Help

    At the moment i'm catching up with building projects,
    I have an extension to the house to finish this is in local stone and half built (30m2) to finish.
    This is work for strong arms and back with a minimum of know how.
    I would welcome a couple (optional) as there is also the garden, house and animals to look after.


    ________________________________________________________________________________________________


    En ce moment j'ai besoin de une coup de main dans le bâtiment, ...Une agrandissement ( deja bien commencer en pierre) de la maison environ 30m2 a terminer !
    Donc il faut des bras, dos et une minimum de savoir faire ...! ceci n'exclue pas ex une couple cas il y a le jardin, animaux et maison a sont occuper aussi.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    detached cosy room that has 2 double beds

    Individuel piece mignon et comfortable avec 2 double lits.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have a connection of medium quality which should be improved at a later date.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    I have enough space to park a van/ truck and or caravan, can provide limited electricity (only solar power here)

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 119681676118