Join our family and share your culture with us. New Zealand.

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 24 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 9 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi there,

    I am a stay at home mum that moved into this adorable house build by pulling a horse and cart in the 1920's. As a homeschooling mum with 3 children under 7 and a partner who is travelling worldwide most of the year, I am keen to spend time improving our house and garden while keeping on discovering our surroundings.
    While Mike is working as a stuntman, I have taken on the task to move in and make the house suitable for our family. We fell in love with this gorgeous natural grounds and the spirit of a house where nothing looks straight. The house is fully build with Kauri wood and is located right next to the Herekino forest. It is build on the most beautiful Clay ground and part of our homeschooling project is to learn how to turn the ground into useable clay for sculpting. We are using the natural resources around the property to build vegetable gardens and sustainable living. Our goal is to live off grid in the next 2 years and turn this beautiful place in a sanctuary for humans and animals a like. Finding harmony and using your help to extend our children classroom beyond the 4 wall of a traditional classroom is our key to successfully achieve this goal. We welcome you to join into to this quest.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Here you would benefit from spending time in the Far North of New Zealand. This Magnificent place is next door to the Kaitaia walking track and only 15 min away from 90 mile beach or shipwreck bay. Both beaches are amazing places to soak up some of New Zealands beautiful nature. Also being from Belgium myself I can introduce Dutch, French or support you with the English Language if you seek to introduce or improve those skills for yourself. I am also an art teacher by trade and even though I'm a little rusty I would be happy to start picking up teaching some of those skills again as well. I like the practise of living healthily, mindfully and in harmony. So if you feel the need to come back to basics this is a good place to be.

  • Help

    Help

    After a few workaway experiences we've realised our first week is usually going through a healthy spring clean of the inside and outside of our home. This includes cleaning guttering, brushing outside walls, carports etc. while getting to know each others strengths. By the next week most workdays have gotten used to the flow in our home and are feeling comfortable with taking on some other tasks like teaching a skill to our children or joining in the morning flow, or simply take responsibility for one of the projects we are working on. We choose to study from home so a helping hand with projects and jobs in and around the property as well as teaching in general is a welcome gift. Any of your skills in art, music, sustainable living, languages as well as introducing your culture to our family is a welcome addition.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Maori: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in an old villa that has been pulled by horse and cart around 1920. We have a spare room in the house for 1 person to start with. You will require a car as we live rurally, yet very close to town, beaches and walking tracks.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    During your time off there are walking tracks, surfing beaches close by, there is a cinema, a museum and library within 5 minutes and three different swimming pools in town. Only 1 hour from here there are also surfing dunes. We have yet to discover our surroundings ourselves, so we welcome you along this journey of course.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 221944728993