Learn about archery and natural horsemanship near Cape Town, South Africa

Country

South Africa

Favourited 123 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/12/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    70.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our Ranch is a small holding owned by our family, Richard & Shelly (mom &dad), and our daughter Sasha. We employ four helpers, a Malawian, two Zimbabweans and a local South African from the village. They help with the gardening, clearing of alien vegetation, general maintencance and cleaning.

    We have 5 horses, a donkey, a pig, 4 dogs and a cat.
    We have a horseback archery track and are looking for help to train our horses (no archery experience is needed)
    We are competitive Horseback Archers but also love out rides.
    We are musicians, and enjoy to jam around a campfire.

    We love yoga and offer horse meditation. we like to eating healthy and sustainably.
    We have an organic vegetable garden.

    We are looking for experienced riders, people who love animals to help training our horses.

    Our small holding is situated just outside the village of Napier in the Overberg, Western Cape.
    Our village is very small and two hour from Cape Town.
    There is not much in the way of entertainment, it is a very quiet village, so for the youth wanting to party and socialise, it will not be suitable.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travelers can learn archery as well as how to ride natural horsemanship style. Travelers will experience South African Culture and practice English.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for help in training our horses and working with our horses. We are natural horsemanship and do not ride with bits or negative reinforcement. We are looking for EXPERIENCED riders only.
    We have a horseback archery track and want to train our horses for Horseback archery and general riding.
    We like to grow our own vegetables so any help in the veg garden is welcome.

    Our visitors will feel welcome, we like to sit together for a meal a day.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    We are open to learning other languages

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A fully equipped cottage. Free internet.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Napier is a small village with no public transport. Cape Town is a two hour drive and the beautiful beaches of Arniston and Struisbaai are just a 30 min drive. One would need a car.
    Hermanus is an hours drive.
    There are wine farms in the area.
    The mountain biking is good and there is kitesurfing near Arniston .
    It is a very small and quiet village, so anyone looking for a busy town, with lots of social may be disappointed.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 855539895211