Help me with improvements to my house and in the garden near Hurdalsjøen, Norway

Country

Norway

Favourited 123 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/06/2019

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Eva, I am 63 years old, being an author writing books and doing speeches about food and health. My house is a beautiful place near by Hurdalsjøen - about 30 minutes with bus or car from Gardermoen Airport. I also have a little "bathinghouse" 100 yards from the mainhouse and 2 yards from the lake. Here is a rather big garden in which I grow vegetables in the summer.

    As I said is this a beautiful place, but also a big place, and I am not able to keep everything in order.
    I am living here alone usually, but this year a friend of mine, Susanne, is also living here. She is working with childrens care and is also a midwife. We want to meet new people and have a nice time with them and at the same time get help with all the things that has to be done both outside and inside the house.

    The workaway person will live in the smaller part of the house with his or hers own bathroom and a small kitchen for smaller meals. In the busy days we do not always eat all meals together - but always the dinner. The dinner is the main meal also good for talks, sharing life-experiences and discussions. I hope the persons coming here will have a nice time to remember later.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They can learn about the Norwegian Culture in a small village of Norway with beautiful surroundings. They can learn much about ecological growing of vegetables both at my place and at the EcoVillage that is about 4 km away. I am part of the Collective growing of vegetables there as well.

  • Help

    Help

    Working with the vegetables outside. I also need some work on my house to be done. Some panel needs changing and some of the house needs paint. The grass needs to be cut " all the time" and I also would like to get å small stairway made from stone down by the bathinghouse.

    Here is so much to do most of the time that the person coming here can choose pretty much what kind of work to be done in agreement with me - both if it is a man or a woman.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Preferably English. I myself also know some German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    My house is from 1905. And in 1986 it was a smaller part added to it. The workaway person will live in the smaller part of the house with his or her own bedroom and bathroom and a small kitchen for smaller meals if that is preferred . I have my office in this part of the building, but the person coming here will have a nice place to live.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This is a place for hiking, fishing, swimming etc. The woods are just behind the house, and the water a few yards away. I have an old rowing boat.

    There are many volunteers from different places in the world in the local EcoVillage that the volunteer here can get to know and spend time with. Here are bicycles to use - for both short and longer rides. I have not have volunteers before, so this summer will be the first. But I know that the EcoVillage are pleased with their volunteers and the volunteers with them.

    I do not expect very much except that the person can work by him og herself most of the time, be nice with good mood and happy about meeting new people. As i said earlier - we like to eat dinner and talt together every day, which of course do not mean that the volunteer is free to do other things if preferred.

    I would prefer that the volunteer can speak English good enough to be understood.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 854677391561