Join us at the fisherman's farm outside Bergen, Norway

Country

Norway

Favourited 390 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    19  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    60.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Adrian
    I have always felt at home by the ocean. I also have a genuine interest for farming, so i decided to develop my own farm by the sea.
    My vision was to create a both traditional and creative workplace for myself and people around.

    The farm is now starting up again based on a traditional way of living from fishing and agriculture.
    This combined way of living was probably the most important way for our forefathers to provide enough food and survive in the harsh landscape for agriculturing on the west coast of Norway. The farm is situated by the westernmost mainlandpoint in Norway. We are close to the North sea, but still protected by the surrounding islands. This muncipality area in Norway consists of many islands connected with bridges.
    The situation makes the farm a good base for our work with using the resources from our coast and Islands. We can catch our food from the sea by fishing and freediving.
    On land, I am raising pigs.
    All is done as ecological as possible.

    I believe many good people are travelling to explore the world. By welcoming you to stay at the farm and work together, we can exchange our knowledge and cultures, making our lives richer!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The projects are varied, and maybe you can learn new things while staying at the farm.
    If you have a certain skill, creativity or good ideas, it will be well appreciated if you will contribute in developing the farm.

  • Help

    Help

    Different tasks based on the seasons:
    Harvesting hay, forestry, painting, fishing and setting up fence.
    Some important tasks have to be done year round:
    Like feeding and caring of the animals, preparing food for the pigs, general maintenace, keep areas for both animals and humans clean and tidy, cooking and housekeeping. These tasks demands that you can help independently, and understands the certain responsibility to it.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Deutsch, Norsk, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will accomodate in a traditional old norwegian house.
    The house is small, so you might share room with other workawayers. But all guests will be supplied with their own bed, with clean bedding and linen.
    Food is included.
    Good food is important, so we prioritize time to prepare food.
    Wifi is available.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Transport:
    The farm is situated north of Bergen, the second largest city in Norway.
    Expressboat from Bergen to Vardetangen (the westernmost mainlandpoint) is 1 hour. This is the fastest method to travel, and the trip itself is an experience.
    There is also good bus connections.
    Travel by car to Bergen is about 70 km.

    Community area consist of small shopping center, local pub and library.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week (max 25 hours/week)












Host ref number: 214165539894