Varied & interesting tasks required whilst staying on our smallholding in Surrey Hills AONB, England


United Kingdom

Favourited 78 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

  • Description


    Our family consists of husband, wife, 2 older children living in London, dog, cats and chickens. Home is a small holding within 25 acres. We grow seasonal fruit and vegetables, keep chickens, livery yard and an apiary. We would very much appreciate assistance in maintainence in helping us decorate out buildings, stables and fencing. We would appreciate volunteers getting stuck in and co operating in a family like fashion, cleaning up after ones self, offering assistance and partaking in meal times.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live a rural idyl on a small holding, running off a biomass wood gasification boiler and solar panels. We rent out five residential properties on site on a permanent basis, so we have a little community here. We grow masses of veg to sustain our table. We have a livery yard and apiary. We would be willing to share our gardening and bee keeping knowledge and demonstrate such to you. Happy to engage in conversation to assist your language skills, however will not be giving "formal lessons" as such in reading or writing.
    We live in a beautiful area of rolling heath land, with pines, deciduous wood land and ponds. The local geography is unique, near by tumuli from bronze age burial grounds from chieftains and stone out crops. There is much to investigate by foot. For example, Frensham Common is a large Site of Special Scientific Interest (SSSI); The Devil's Jumps are a series of three small hills. Swimming in nearby ponds. Marvellous sculpture park within walking distance as is local pub, restaurant.

  • Help


    We would really appreciate assistance in maintaining our small holding. It consists of aged buildings that require love and attention frequently, lick of paint, minor carpentry restoration. Fencing over the 25 acres to safe guard livestock, gardening attending to ornamental and kitchen gardens, assistance in bee keeping manipulation, seasonal extraction, bottling, making bee products- hand scrubs, lotions, potions. Using JCB to cut chestnut coppice in hand to fuel our carbon neutral biomass heating & hot water system. Our task list is extensive, varied and interesting. Your company and efforts would be most appreciated and rewarded by a very comfortable environment, great home cooking, company and conversation :)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    We have a large barn in court yard that has Marvellous brand new mattresses, beds, sofa, tv, dvd player, dvd's, fridge, freezer, table top combi oven, hotplate, microwave, kettle, toilet, shower, towels, washing machine. Most cosy indeed! However Jan 2019 - refit, so we will accommodate you in main farm house with us. You will have access to sole use of top floor in house, double bedroom, futon sofa bed on landing, bathroom, wc, sink, bath and shower. You will have access to our social areas - dining, reception and computer room. Use of kitchen too.

    April 2019 - We have commitments for Spring/Summer in both main Farmhouse and barn accommodation so we will be pausing Workaway potential until further notice.

    Everything to make your stay luxurious and comfortable! We will happily supply bed, breakfast and social evening meals with you, food, not alcohol. Cleaning of your own environment to be maintaining in your time as opposed to working hours. Lunch's to me prepped yourselves from fridge that we will fill with your preferred foods. We are non smokers, no smoking internally, externally acceptable.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are a fifteen minute drive to local historic market town of Farnham. There is an hourly local bus service. I'm sure we could devise transport and excursions together to Farnham Castle and Waverley Abbey. Would be happy to drive you to Watts Memorial Chapel and Gallery in Compton which is a pre-raphaelite masterpiece. RGS Wisley local too.
    We are a 15min drive to train station, plus an hours train journey into London.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 854389647264