Garden help needed in Newboro, Canada



Favourited 11 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    We are a vegetarian couple who likes to garden and spend time in nature. We have just under two acres of land, some of which we have turned into vegetable and flower gardens. Our garden is home to many kinds of birds, as well as racoons, chipmunks and squirrels, and the occasional skunk or porcupine. We are very close to Newboro Lake and love to spend time in and on the lake in our many (mostly) home-built boats. Newboro is a small, walkable village, but is close to bigger towns and cities, including Ottawa (1.5 hours), Kingston (1 hour), Perth (35 minutes), Smiths Falls (35 minutes), Brockville (1 hour) and Gananoque (1 hour).

  • Type of help

    Type of help


  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are situated in Newboro, at the highest point of the historic Rideau Canal, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Explore nearby villages and towns, or relax in the garden and enjoy tranquility and singing birds. If you enjoy camping, nature and/or water activities, this is the place for you! Our cottage and outbuildings are nestled in a private garden, home to a great variety of trees, plants and birds. Although we try to live simply and sustainably, we do have high-speed internet and wifi, so you can keep up to date with your friends and family and keep in touch with what's going on in the world if you really need to. We have sailboats, kayaks and canoes, with which you can explore beautiful Newboro Lake, popular with boaters, swimmers and fishermen alike.

    Our neighbourhood is peaceful and walkable. We are close to Newboro Lake, which is a great lake for kayaking and canoeing. We are within walking distance of legendary Kilborns shop on the Rideau, and only 8 minutes by car from beautiful downtown Westport on the Upper Rideau Lake. We are also close to beautiful historic Perth (35 minutes by car), Smiths Falls with its Via Rail and Greyhound connections (35 minutes by car), Gananoque - gateway to the St. Lawrence and the 1,000 Islands (50 minutes), Brockville (40 minutes) and Kingston (50-60 minutes).

    Jane is a qualified ESL teacher and would be happy to help you improve your English language skills. John is a veteran boat builder and can explain the intricacies of boating and boat-building.

  • Help


    We need help weeding vegetable beds, trimming bushes, clearing dead branches, maintaining paths, and watering.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, Afrikaans, a little German and Swahili, a tiny bit of Spanish and Portuguese

  • Accommodation


    Your accommodation is either a small "Burro" caravan or our tiny home in the woods, best described as "glamping" (glamorous camping). We use an outdoor composting toilet system and have an outdoor shower. We have a large screened room where we relax and eat. You will need your own transport to get here, or we can fetch you from Smiths Falls, Perth or Kingston. Parking is no problem. The accommodation has limited self-catering facilities, but we can offer you limited space in our fridge and you are welcome to enjoy and cook vegetarian food with us in our home.

    We eat simple, vegetarian food. Home-made muesli, plain yogurt, apple sauce for breakfast. Mid-morning snack of apples, ryvita, cheese. Lunch is often left-overs from the previous day or a sandwich and/or salad. Supper can be anything from a cheese omelette, pasta, wraps, oven-baked vegetables etc.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your time off, you can explore Newboro Lake by kayak, go swimming, and explore the Newboro Locks. We have bicycles and you can ride around Newboro Village. We drive to Westport once or twice a week to shop for food, as well as occasional visits to Perth, Smiths Falls and Kingston. We are both vegetarians and try to live simply and sustainably. We like to socialize with friends but we are not "night-owls" - we go to bed quite early. If you are a party person, this may not be the best setting for you!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 852748461221