Come help if you like painting outside and homecare inside in my little home in a developing eco village near Inverness, Scotland

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 89 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I live in an intentional, international well-known community/developing eco-village, on the north east coast of Scotland in the UK.

    There are about 400 people living here and we have many guests/visitors each year. Some live/stay in mobile homes e.g. caravans, we also have bungalows/chalets, and small & large eco-houses. Many are privately owned. (The 'rainbow photograph' shows a small part of one of the larger eco-houses & as you can see, we sometimes have some amazing rainbows : ) ) To explain how the community works would take ages and really it's something one has to experience oneself - those who feel drawn to coming here! Diversity is what makes it such an interesting, inspiring place to live/visit. It can also be quite challenging.

    My particular interests include: nature/animals, the beach, walking, cycling, dancing, singing, listening to music, reading, and what some would call spiritual things, e.g. consciousness. And I am nourished by all these things by living here!

    It is a lovely part of the world, right beside the bay, with woods, sand-dunes, the sea and beach nearby. There are many seals here, there's a bird hide, and you might spot dolphins....

    We have a general store with apothecary, cafe, library, art centre, dance/drama studio, pottery, meditation sanctuaries, etc.

    The nearest village is a 2 minute bike ride away (15 minute walk) with a shop/post office, 2 pubs/restaurants, cafe's, bakery, boatyard/water-sports activities.

    The nearest city (& airport) is Inverness (home/area of the famous Loch Ness Monster!!)
    Second is Aberdeen, then Edinburgh & Glasgow.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Experience staying in an intentional multi-national community....
    Practise/improve English language skills
    Spiritual awareness/development

  • Help

    Help

    Need someone (ONE person!) preferably male, to help out for a few hours a day for a week or so this summer. Flexible about duration, etc...

    To paint a shed
    Cut grass in small garden
    Some home-care/cleaning, possibly, if weather bad

    Negotiable to people's interests/skills
    Plenty of time to yourself, to explore area and see the community

    Prefer quiet person, who enjoys being silent...non-smoker

    Bicycle available : )

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english, little welsh

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    tent outside or share small mobile home with one other

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This is an opportunity to come to experience living in an intentional community.
    Also, to explore this lovely part of Scotland. Some say that Scotland is the last great wilderness of the UK, especially further north, in the highlands.....

    A place to relax and chill for a while.
    Perhaps a place to be inspired.
    Or delve deep into your inner world.
    Let the journey unfold : )

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Negotiable - weather dependent....(Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week)


Host ref number: 847653488996