Starting garden project in small village in Tavalichevo, Bulgaria's cherry paradise



Favourited 88 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
  • Description


    I am a Belgian born female language teacher, musician, reiki practitioner and tarot reader. Aspiring massage therapist and gardener :) Ever continuing to learn and develop. Got attached to Bulgaria and its amazing nature, and bought a property in a small village, surrounded by cherry trees and snow topped mountains. I moved here in spring 2016 and am now in the process of making this place better and better. Hopefully I can gradually develop some interesting social and/or cultural activities here.

    Space and freedom are of utmost importance to me. Count on spending time without me and entertaining yourself in the free time. I don't exclude the possibility of doing some fun things together, but you need to be independent enough to take care of yourself.

    The Kyustendil area is amazing. Besides from the mountains there are numerous mineral springs and baths. The nearest town, Kyustendil, has several. There is also a market, and a lively center with a lot of bars, restaurants and shops. Great second hand shopping! There are some folk festivals in the summer. In June and July it's cherry picking time: my garden has about twenty trees and the cherries are just wonderful. Too much to eat, great for jam and compot. For those who enjoy horseback riding there are opportunities in the surrounding. Hiking and mountain biking are also perfect pass times in these parts. I don't have bikes here (yet) but they are for rent for very cheap in Kyustendil.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you are willing to be part of a starting project and deal with the trials, errors, the falling and getting back up again, great! Woodworkers and builders also warmly welcome! We will live and learn together. Musical and mineral medicine, open(ing) hearts and minds, and a stunning nature await you.

  • Help


    From this March until end of August I am in Pirate Paradise. My wish is to get in better shape (I gained weight in Belgium and need to lose it again and lack the discipline to maintain my yoga practice and healthy eating habits on my own) and to do some renovation/embellishing around the premisses. A terrace on the garage, fixing the roofs of the old houses and making a roof for the terrace are priorities. RRRRoof!! If my budget allows it, I would love to start renovating one of the houses with mud. This house needs electricity and plumbing, new windows and A LOT of mud :)
    The accent will be less on growing vegetables this year and more on creating more sustainable beauty in the garden: some seating area's, rose beds, lavender beds, perennial herbs... I will update here what is happening and what is in the planning.

    I am a recording singer-songwriter and always happy to work with others. Musicians with experience mixing and mastering, players of guitar, bass, violin, cello, cahon, brass instruments... you might be that special extra touch I am looking for!

    If you are into healthy nutrition, are a personal trainer, yoga teacher, roof worker, electrician or plumber, a musician or all of these at once :) please come and join me! And let's have an awesome, healing, creative and constructive time together!

    Furthermore I am looking very specifically for a person or a couple who needs a home for the winter from September- October 2019 through May 2019. They would be living here practically for free, in return for maintaining the garden (which is low maintenance in the winter and early spring) and the house, and taking care of the dog, Sukhee. The pet food will be provided by me. Electricity and water bills and refills for the gas bottle will be paid by the tenants. Without your own transport it is very difficult to live here, so preferably you have your own vehicle. There is public transport but it is quite time consuming to use it.

    Ideally we have an interview on Skype to get an impression of each other and if it feels right, we meet here at my place to go over the practicalities (where is everything, water and electricity, keys, etc. Also I will need copies of your id cards) and get to know each other better. It is important I feel that I can trust you.

    I will be in Belgium for work during this period but throughout easily reachable with the phone , skype, email or social media. The neighbours are also very helpful and lovely people.

    Hoping for serious candidates, so please don't take this offer too lightly. Let's not waste each others time.

    Thank you!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    German: Intermediate

  • Accommodation


    I have one spare room with a double bed, and a mezzanine for two, duvets and all. Of course you are also free to peg down your tent in the garden in case you enjoy camping and like the extra privacy.
    We share the bathroom with toilet and hot shower.
    You get breakfast, lunch and dinner unless we agree otherwise. I usually cook one hot meal a day, except on weekends. Then we see what works best, depending on everybody's plans. Some days I am not feeling it and then the kitchen and fridge are open for your inspiration :) I am quite flexible and expect the same from my guests.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is public transport from Sofia to Kyustendil. I can pick you up at a meeting point before Kyustendil.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    3-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 827873442196