Help around the house in beautiful Cornwall, England

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 50 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/12/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 20 days

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, we are a family of four living in a village in South East Cornwall, England. Matt, Emma, Jake (17) and Lily (9). We would be interested in having workaway's to help with language exchange, especially French, Spanish or German, help around the house and occasional childcare for Lily. We also have two very affectionate dogs and a green iguana. As both Matt and Emma work, an extra pair of hands is always welcome!

    Cornwall is a fantastic place to be all year round, but especially in the warmer months as there is plenty of walking, moorland and beaches to explore. We are just 10 mins from Bodmin Moor and 10 mins from Looe (popular seaside town). The north coast beaches are famous for surfing, but if you're a nature lover generally, this is a great place to be and a popular holiday destination. We are a small village, 3 miles from the nearest town of Liskeard. We are surrounded by farms and countryside.

    We tend to visit the beach or go for walks every weekend if possible through the summer, and like to swim or paddle board (SUP). It's normal for us to walk, cycle and run through the week too, as well as walking the dogs - we like to be outside.

    Re: Covid-19 - lockdown has eased now in England (though we are taking precautions still). With this in mind, we are able to accept workawayers who are looking to stay for longer periods (i.e. more than two weeks), pending Government decisions and updates to restrictions.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are just 10 mins from coast or moor by car and there's plenty to get out and see. Lots of walking, cycling and trekking opportunities. We can show you where are great places to visit, and help you see the area.

    You are welcome to join us if we have friends over, and we can take you out to different places we go, if you wish to join us, to help you see what local life here is like.

    As an all English speaking family, we can help you with your English language.

  • Help

    Help

    Ideally, we would like to host workaway'ers who would be happy to help around the house with light cleaning, possibly cooking, and possibly with some child care for Lily if we need to go out, or who wouldn't mind taking her to the park or helping keep her active when she's bored.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a double bedroom with shared bathroom available on the top floor of our house. This room contains a double bed so would be suitable for a single person. We'd also be happy to host a parent and child as Lily loves to play with other children. You would need to share this room though.

    You can expect a spacious room, double divan bed, sofa, TV and your own Sky TV box, WiFi, stereo system with our CD collection, English books and magazines to browse, and access to two shared bathrooms. As well as shared access to the lounge and kitchen/dining room.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We can be totally flexible in terms of days of help/days off and would ask you to be willing to help for up to five hours per day, five days per week, though it's likely to be less.

    We will provide breakfast cereals and food for lunch which you can help yourself to, and would prepare your evening meal for you, unless you wanted to prepare your own or cook for us so we can try your favourite dishes! We try to do a weekly grocery shop on a Monday evening but there is a small shop in the village which sells most things you might need. Emma is vegetarian but there is meat cooked and consumed in the home. We can try to cater for specific dietary requests but may need your help to do this. As a family, we like to eat dinner together and would love you to join us for that meal.

    We live in a quiet village which is lovely for daily walks or cycles (you are welcome to borrow one of our bikes, skateboard or scooter), surrounded by rolling countryside and lots of views of farmland. The nearest town and train station are three miles away. We like to go for family walks (with and without the dogs) and day trips at the weekends which you are welcome to join us for.

    Our village is fairly quiet, there is no real nightlife nearby, so this isn't somewhere you would meet lots of other workawayers for evening drinks or nights out. The nearest city for nightlife is Plymouth, which is about 40 minutes away by car or train. We do not allow drugs or smoking in the house.

    In summary:
    What we need = help with housework and general family tasks
    Type of stay = relaxed, quiet
    Ideal for = walks in the countryside
    What you get = spacious room, home comforts, food

    If you have any questions, please feel free to get in touch!


    ---

    Travel information

    Cornwall is in South West England. In terms of getting here, your options are by air, road or sea.

    Air
    The nearest airport is Newquay. This is about 30 mins away by car. We could pick you up from the airport.
    The next nearest airport is Exeter. This is about 60 miles away. There are coaches and buses which run from Exeter airport to Plymouth, the nearest city to us. We could pick you up from Plymouth.
    The next nearest airport is Bristol. This is the most flexible for destinations in to the South West. Bristol is about 2 and a half hours by car. Your best bet if flying into Bristol is to get a coach from Bristol to Plymouth (South West Falcon / EasyBus / National Express all run services). Next best option is train from Bristol to Plymouth or Liskeard.
    If you're flying into a London airport, you will need to get a train to Liskeard (approx 5 hours) or a coach (5+ hours) from London/airport.

    Train
    Liskeard is the nearest train station. We can collect you from there. It is on the main line from Penzance to London and up to other parts of the UK, so every train will stop at Liskeard.
    If you need help with exploring options for travelling by train, please ask. Trains can be quite expensive if not booked in advance. Look at GWR trains and Trainline for an idea of prices.

    Sea
    I believe several ferry routes go from Spain and France to Plymouth. We can collect you from Plymouth.

    Please do consider these travel options before making an enquiry with us, thank you.

    ---

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have high speed broadband and a strong WiFi connection in the house. We are building a log cabin in the garden which will be a dedicated office that you could share with us.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 846529951177