Help on out small farm in the Sierra Nevada de Santa Marta, Colombia

Country

Colombia

new host  

Favourited 17 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/09/2021

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Welcome to our finca, we are Pablo and Coline, we have just finished a 5-year trip to South America in our van, visiting, sharing and learning in various projects related to permaculture and regenerative processes. All this great movement has inspired us to start a new stage and carry out a project that mixes art, in its various branches, along with permaculture with its various techniques. We have under our guard a 10ha farm near Tayrona National Park, in a village called Orinoco, in the Sierra Nevada de Santa Marta. Here we intend to experiment with music and garden design, paint and plant, do acrobatics and bio-build, we have knowledge about various techniques of agroforestry, bio-construction, intensive bio garden. We will gladly share and receive the knowledge! Welcome


    Somos Pablo y Coline, acabamos de finalizar un viaje de 5 años por Sudamérica en nuestro van, visitando, compartiendo y aprendiendo en diversos proyectos relacionados con permacultura y procesos regenerativos.
    Todo este gran movimiento, nos ha inspirado a comenzar una nueva etapa y realizar un proyecto que mixture el arte, en sus diversas ramas, junto a la permacultura con sus diversas técnicas.
    Tenemos bajo nuestra guardia una finca de 10ha en cercanías al Parque Nacional Tayrona, en una vereda llamada Orinoco, en la Sierra Nevada de Santa Marta. Aquí pensamos experimentar con música y diseño de huertas, pintar y plantar, hacer acrobacia y bioconstruir, tenemos conocimiento sobre varias técnicas de agrofloresta, tecnicas mixtas de construccion , huerta bio intensiva.


    Con mucho gusto compartiremos y recibiremos el conocimiento!

    Bienvenidxs

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We need help for 5 hours, 5 days a week. Each workawayer must choose his two days off for the week. The days worked, the 3 meals will be vegetarian, we will cook together and share recipes from the world! Here you will learn to make food and drink production with local fruits and vegetables. Also organic farming techniques, bioconstruction, agroforestry, and some other things.We ask for a contribution for the food in the days that are not worked.


    Esperamos una ayuda de 5 horas, 5 días a la semana. Cada workawayer debe escojer sus dos días de descanso de la semana. Los días trabajados, las 3 comidas seran vegetarianas, cocinaremos juntos y compartiremos recetas del mundo!
    Pedimos un aporte para la comida en Los dias que no se trabajan.

    Aquí aprenderas a hacer producción de alimentos y bebidas con frutas y vegetales locales. También técnicas de agricultura orgánica, tecnicas mixtas de construccion, agrofloresta, y practicar idiomas (español portugués francés). Nuestro lugar es tránsitado por muchos amigos viajeros con quiénes podrás compartir y experimentar la cultura latina.

  • Help

    Help

    We need various types of help, but basically they are work in the field, from cutting grass to mulch, collecting, classifying and sowing seeds, watering, collecting fruits, pruning, creating beds for planting, preparing substrates, devising projects, etc. And also jobs in the kitchen, how to make jams, preserves and various products. When it comes to artistic processes, we may ask you to help us paint murals, or play music ...

    Necesitamos diversos tipos de ayuda, pero básicamente son trabajos en el campo, desde cortar grama para mulch, recolectar, clasificar y sembrar semillas, regar, abonar, recolectar frutos, podas, crear canteros para plantar, preparación de sustratos, idear proyectos, etc.
    Estamos reformando Casa Madre, necesitamos ayuda en la construccion.
    Y también trabajos en la cocina, cómo realizar mermeladas, conservas y diversos productos.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Here you can sleep in a tent or hammock. We have mats to lend if you wish. We have a Mother House, where we live, there is the kitchen and the common space. The toilets are dry, here we take care of the water! For now we do not have Wi-Fi, but the neighbor 100 meters away does, and he lends us his password. Also the 4g signal of clear works very well. The electricity is solar, it works well to charge cell phones, cameras and computers. Please bring long work clothes and sturdy footwear for work in the field. Let us remember that we are guardians of this land and we ask for your collaboration and awareness with garbage, hygiene products. We do not provide toilet paper.

    Aquí puedes dormir en carpa ó hamaca. Disponemos de colchonetas para prestar si así lo desean.
    Tenemos una Casa Madre, dónde vivimos, allí se encuentra la cocina y el espacio común. Los baños son secos, aquí cuidamos el agua!

    Por ahora no tenemos wifi, pero el vecino a 100metros sí tiene, y nos presta su clave. Igualmente la señal 4g de claro funciona muy bien.

    La electricidad es solar, funciona bien para cargar celulares, cámaras y ordenadores. (el acceso es limitado)


    Pedimos por favor que traigan ropa de trabajo larga, y calzado resistente para los trabajos en el campo.

    Recordemos que somos guardianes de esta tierra y les pedimos colaboración y conciencia con la basura, los productos de higiene.

    No proveemos el papel higiénico.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The land is located at 5km from the main road, and the beach !!! It has good access for cars (if you own car ask for further information), and from the point in the Troncal, it takes you1 hour walking or 10 minutes by motorcycle. Here in our spare time we make music, crafts, slack line, acroyoga, we refresh ourselves in the ravine and other crazy things that arise. The beach is an hour's walk away, we sometimes go with the surfboards to spend the day. You also have many attractions in the region, we can tell you some. Tayrona Park is very close, only 10km by car or 4km on foot. You have buses to Palomino or Santa Marta every 30 minutes from the point in the Troncal, it is about 1 hour of travel.

    La finca se ubica a 5km de la Troncal del Caribe, y la playa!!!
    Tiene buen acceso para carros 4x4 (igualmente escribanos que carro poseen), y desde el punto en la Troncal, puede ser 1 hora caminando ó 15minutos en moto.

    Aquí en los ratos libres hacemos música, artesanías, slack line, acroyoga, nos refrescamos en la quebrada y otras locuras que surgen.
    La playa queda a 1 hora a pie, hay una poza à 10minutos para nadar, y el Rio Piedras a 1hora a pie.
    También tienes muchas atracciones en la región, podemos indicarte algunas.
    El parque Tayrona es muy cerca, a solo 10km en carro o 4km a pie. Tienes buses a Palomino ó Santa Marta cada 30 minutos desde el punto en la Troncal, es como 1 hora de viaje.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 844753835321