Help with garden projects, repairs or housesitting in Florida, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 190 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 15 days

  • Badges

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, my name is Gene and I live in the small town of Chattahoochee, FL with my dogs, cats, chickens, ducks, and rabbits. I am rebuilding an older house from the 1950s that i picked up for the huge sum of $6,900.00; I've already finished the wiring and plumbing (all of which was stolen at some point while it sat vacant after foreclosure) and just finished putting a new metal roof on. This project was set back a good bit by Hurricane Michael which removed part of the old roof and most of my trees, but I'm making progress in spite of my crazy work schedule. My next project is to set my 1971 Airstream up as a workshop and free bicyclist's hostel as I am about half a mile from the Southern Tier bicycle route, one of the main routes used by coast-to-coast bicyclists riding from San Diego to St Augustine or vice versa. I also want to work on sustainable gardens and plan to raise chickens, fish, rabbits, and goats plus homemade solar and wind power in order to be less dependent on the grid while having a smaller footprint on the planet.

    I currently share my house with a couple of lovable cats, a chilled and laid-back Blue Heeler dog that was born deaf, and an overly-affectionate rescued bulldog mix; your well-behaved 2 or 4-legged companions are welcome as long as they don't eat my critters. Smoking anything is not allowed inside, but the porch and yard are fair game.

    Chattahoochee is a cute little town at the Southwestern corner of Georgia but on the Florida side. For such a small town, there is quite a bit to see and do here from world-class bass fishing to hiking (although many of the trails are currently closed due to hurricane damage), waterfalls, canoeing and so on. It is a nature-lover's paradise in spite of significant damage that is still visible in many areas.

    I am very family- and community-minded. Anyone living in my house is a member of my family and I treat them that way. I like to travel and have other adventures, and unless it's a romantic getaway, you're probably welcome to join me. I have a couple of canoes, a kayak, jonboat, and a sailboat that you are welcome to use as well other fishing gear. I have been a very active couchsurfer for 10+ years with a couple hundred references and you will meet many of my guests as they come through; coming from a couchsurfing background, I am much more interested in the cultural exchange than the free labor aspects of this site, but at the same time I am very grateful for any help I can get.

    I do have one unbreakable and non-negotiable rule: Your first and foremost job at my house is to enjoy your vacation!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can explore and learn together and from each other on various topics from home repair to solar energy to sustainable farming while learning about each others' backgrounds and from other visitors

  • Help

    Help

    Anything from helping with roofing and other basic construction projects such as household repairs or building animal pens to house-sitting or clearing bamboo. Due to the variety of help needed around here, I am not so concerned with your specific skills as your willingness to help and ability to learn with me. You are not here to work for me as much as with me and we can always watch YouTube to figure out how to do something; Other times, I just need someone to turn switches on and off while I troubleshoot something or even just to go sailing with.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    German: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Full-sized futon in living room, private bedroom with queen bed, shared bathroom, full access to rest of house and property. You're family, not a guest or visitor. If I have someone else staying already (which I will tell you about when we email), there is also have a couch and a futon that folds into a full bed.
    You will always have free access to the kitchen including food plus laundry etc. It is your house as well as long as you are staying there.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a state hospital here in town if you want to work a side job and a decent-sized community college about 20 miles away. We are about an hour from the beach and 5 minutes from world-class freshwater fishing and we have nationally-recognized hiking trails about 2 blocks from the house (although many trails are currently closed due to hurricane damage). There are many creeks and streams for everything from fishing to paddling to tubing. There are more local cultural events nearby than you would think for such a small town including a fantastic theater troupe, community events, and museums. We do have community bus service to nearby towns including the state capitol of Tallahassee which has many more cultural and entertainment offerings and our roads are very bicycle-friendly.
    Some of these things may be limited due to the pandemic.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    After the hurricane destroyed all internet access in the town, we got fiber and it is FAST!. As a former IT professional, I can help you with any technical issues that you can't resolve on your own.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    I have parked a 30ft motorhome in the lot across the street for a couple of weeks but not sure how long the city would let me get away before saying something. I do have several spots in my yard that might work but talk to me in advance.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    As long as they get along with my animals

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Whatever works, I'm not a slavedriver. I typically have a to-do list and you decide what you think you should do






Host ref number: 843493371361