1 / 5

Come and help with wood cutting and hauling in Colorado, USA



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    I am 71 years old, a retired teacher, and French by birth. I live in a fairly large house, on a dirt road, a 10 minute-drive from town. Most people would enjoy the environment: there is wildlife around in the form of deer and elk, foxes and elusive mountain lions; but nothing else to do apart from being in nature! I have 7 acres of land/wood and never seem to be able to stay on top of it!
    I need help to bring logs to the house. It's hard work because of the terrain, which is steep and rocky, but fun enough. Because I just had shoulder surgery and now am going to be away for one month, I will need some help to clean the yard: weed whacking, weeding, collecting firewood from the forest, starting the vegetable garden...

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I was born and raised in France and would be happy to help a volunteer with his/her French. Having lived in Colorado for 30 years, I can share quite a bit of information on this part of the world. I can also teach to knit.

  • Help


    I'd like my guest(s) to spend a week to 10 days.
    I live in the foothills of Colorado at an elevation of 8200 feet (2 400 meters). I need help to cut dead trees into logs and bring all the logs and slash down to the house. It's physical work; the property is steep.

    The real attraction is that if you have your own car, you can go and hike in the mountains. Lots of trails and summits.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    I have a comfortable walk-in basement apartment.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It would probably be more fun if the volunteer had his or her ownset of wheeels as I am 7 miles away from the town. Evergreen has a few bars and restaurants, and all the shops one needs, but it's too far to walk. Denver is 45 minutes away; the 14,000 feet mountains are less than one hour away. There are lots of open space parks nearby, one being 5 minutes away from my house by car. I could definitely let the volunteer use my car to go to Evergreen for the evening, or I could give them a ride when they need one.
    My expectations are simple: 4 or 5 hours of work per day, and keep your living space clean! We'll have dinner together. I do want the volunteer to enjoy being here. No smoking inside.
    I have no T.V. Cell phone service is unreliable at the house but WiFi and Internet work fine.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 842214661567

Feedback (3)



House-sitting in Hollywood, Florida, USA
Help with cars, motorcycles and RVs near San Francisco, California, USA