Help at our farm and enjoy the mountains of western North Carolina, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 609 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/11/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    70.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 18 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, We are looking for someone to help on our farm in the mountains of western North Carolina. The farm is 300 acres with 12 miles of hiking and mountain biking trails. We grow Christmas trees and mushrooms on the farm. There is a tiny house for you to live in. It is suitable for one person only or a couple. We are looking for someone to live in the tiny house, clean the main house and provide child care for a grandkid who is 13 years old, harvest mushrooms on the mushroom farm (shiitake ,oyster, lion's main) plus grocery shop, clean the main house and run errands. There is work on the farm during tree planting and tree harvest that will be paying farm wages .Experience in a vineyard is a plus. There is also some other paying work but it is mostly seasonal except small jobs on the farm. The houses are in a beautiful setting in the woods on top of a mountain. Great secluded location that is peaceful and tranquil. It is good if you have your own transportation. A front wheel or 4 wheel vehicle is best. App State University is located here as well as many attractions. Grandfather mountain is a 30 minute drive from the farm. Please do not apply if you are traveling with a dog. Also no smoking. All your housing and utilities will be free. There is internet access.
    We may be traveling so part of the time so the only job would be house sitting and child care. The situation would be perfect for someone who enjoys solitude and a peaceful place to live. Great for reading and writing if you are working on a book. Due to the pandemic there is not much social activity on the farm. There are hikers and mountain bikers on the trails. We do have a disc golf course. We are in need of help as soon as possible. You must have a valid drivers license. Having your own car is a plus but not a deal breaker.
    Our tree harvest starts November1St so there is paying work for a month.
    James Henson

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Gardening
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn about mushrooms and tree farms as well as our local culture

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    The work will be harvesting trees for Christmas. It will pay 12.00 per hour as well as any other farm projects. The house chores includes cooking, grocery shopping. child care and cleaning is non paying but your food will be paid for when cooking.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Small, cozy tiny house suitable for one person.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Local attractions are great, hiking on Grandfather mountain and other ridges near the farm as well as mountain biking and snow skiing.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 338462323331