Help me in my cottage in the hills outside of Edinburgh, Scotland

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 198 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/05/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    60.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Alison and I live in a cottage in the hills outside of Edinburgh. I have recently retired, I used to work teaching crafts to people with learning difficulties.
    The cottage is in the Pentland Regional Park and is surrounded by hills, so if you like walking then this is for you. Three walking trails converge at the cottage. There are also lots of cows and calves around in the summer, at the moment there is a young hare visiting the garden daily, and I see badgers and deer regularly.
    There is an hourly bus from the main road ( a 3 minute walk to the bus stop ) into Edinburgh. The bus takes about 30 minutes into the centre of the city, so all the city life of Edinburgh is very near.
    I have used other volunteer websites myself in the past and I like to return the favour for fellow travellers. I have also walked the Camino for the last three years. I share the house with a male lodger.
    I'm sorry I don't accept smokers, either inside or outside the house.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you like walking there are lots of amazing walks from my cottage, I like to dance a lot, doing 5 rhythms, movement medicine, tango etc so I can take you with me to dance classes. I am qualified as a teacher so I can help you with your English.

  • Help

    Help

    I need the compost bin moved and more composts built. I need a hugel bed made which is like a raised bed. I need a shelter built over the caravan.
    I would like you to help 3 and a half days from 9 till 5 and then you have the next 3 and a half days off.
    Some rough woodwork skills would be good, although we could probably just google it . I usually work with the Workawayer and we discover how to do the tasks together, although if you are skilled I would leave you to it. Thanks

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    German: Beginner
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a room in the house or the caravan. However I am waiting for a new window for the caravan, it depends when you come what accomodation you will get. There is also room for a campervan if you have one.
    I will do the shopping and get what you like to eat and I like to share the cooking. Usually I make big pots of soup which lasts for a few days of lunches and we take turns in cooking at night. I eat everything and I am fine catering for vegetarians or special diets.
    You can help yourself from the fridge any time.
    I live with one lodger so you will also be sharing the house with them.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I have always lived with other people as I like the company and I like sharing my home with others.
    The local bus to Edinburgh is the Stagecoach 101 from Edinburgh to Biggar so you can look it up on the internet to see the timetable. It generally goes every hour. The house is very peaceful as it sits on it's own in the hills but you have all the razzamataz of Edinburgh city including the Edinburgh Festival and Fringe in August.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 25 hours a week, ie 3 and a half days.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)









Host ref number: 841175213474