Help look after our smallholding in the peaceful Golden Valley, Herefordshire, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 38 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    31/03/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We're a couple in our early forties (Rachel and Philip) who moved into a converted barn with a few acres of land and some big barn outbuildings a couple of years ago.

    Our home, surrounded by rolling hills and farmland, is located just outside a tiny village on the English/Welsh border near Hay-on-Wye. In the last couple of years we've managed to renovate the house, plant an orchard, create a veg garden, dig a large pond and fill the smallholding with various farm animals (namely chickens and sheep) along with a rather unwilling sheepdog, Max.

    The house is in a lovely spot, tucked away from sight with gorgeous views down the valley - and we're only a 10 minute walk from the local pub. The fields and barns are full of wildlife and we're still adjusting to waking up to the sound of birdsong in the morning and falling asleep listening to owls. We both lived in London before, so it's been a big change!

    Rachel is an English teacher at the local further education college and Philip is a garden designer. We'd love some help looking after our home and land as there are always lots of jobs to do.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Enjoy staying in a beautifully tranquil, rural spot with plenty of wildlife. If you'd like to improve your English language skills Rachel will be happy to help you. As we always have plenty of jobs to do, whether it be pulling up weeds, planting trees or rounding up our sheep, we'd hope you'd learn a few new skills during your stay with us.

  • Help

    Help

    We've completed most of the major jobs over the last two years and now would like some help looking after the land and gardens. Over the next few months we have a couple of projects that we'd like to get done before spring. One of the projects is to carefully dismantle a small temporary wooden house we built to live in whilst renovating the main house. We want to recycle these materials to build a lovely garden studio overlooking our new pond with great views down the valley. Someone who knows how to use a hammer, drill and saw would be of great help to us!

    The second project we want help with is getting our garden, polytunnel and veg plot ready for next spring. This will include weeding, planting, collecting seed and dividing plants, along with work establishing our orchard and planting some new hedges. We've enjoyed growing our own vegetables and always have far more than we can eat - so if you like cooking that would be a bonus!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English. Rachel also speaks French and German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We can offer you your own bedroom in the house, with a double bed, use of the main bathroom and tasty meals to keep you well fuelled.
    The house is 20 miles from the nearest train station (Hereford). As public transport is a bit limited (there are occasional buses), we'll happily pick you up from the train station (or give you great directions if you're cycling).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your spare time there's lots to do. We are surrounded by quiet pretty country walks and only 20 miles from the Black Mountains. The river Wye is a couple of miles away and great for canoeing. Our closest village (10 mins walk) has just one pub, but the busy Welsh tourist town of Hay-on-Wye is only 15 mins away by bus (or a nice long walk) and Ross-on-Wye and Hereford are only 30 mins away by car.

    There is a bus that runs every hour or so, but we'll be happy to drive you around and show you the sights.

    We are still exploring the surrounding area ourselves and we'd be really happy for you to join us.

    The area is popular with cyclists as there are many quiet little roads and great views, although it is quite hilly.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5hours a day, 5 days a week - but we're pretty chilled

Chickens in the snow
Max the dog - with his new friend!
One of our ten lambs
Our fields in the snow
Digging out the pond
Newly planted woodland bed near the house
The vegetable garden
Our pond one year later.
Lavender beds and pergola
Polytunnel full of veg.
View from the pond
Raking hay in the sun
Lovely when the sun shines
Our house
Host ref number: 839235662959