Help in building an eco-house in Bavaria, Germany

Country

Germany

updated  

Favourited 102 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/01/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    88.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
Join now to contact this host
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hallo!
    We are a family of 4 (Ivo, Maren, doughter Mia and dog Blue). After traveling many parts of this earth we just bought an old farmhouse in the south-east of Bavaria and started renovating and creating. Here is also a lot of work waiting in the garden and our daughter and dog want to be entertaint all the time... Our life here is very basic - internet, warm water and heatabel dry space is limited, but we want to open this place for travelers like we have been for the last decade.
    We are just getting started and we have a vision, so come around and help us realizing it!
    See you :)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    we are happy to share all we have learned travelling and we collected quite a lot of knowledge about different handcrafts and "do-it-yourself-experiances". We both work in a circus, training children and beeing artits, so we can offer to teach some tricks and artistic skills too.

  • Help

    Help

    We just took down the old farm house and prepare for building our new ecological (dream-)house ... This is our big plan for 2020:
    In three blocks we are going to build the wooden framework, set up the roof and start building the interior. For every step we need motivated helpers who want to learn more about sustainable building:

    1st block
    February:
    Prepare all wooden beams for our new house and roof (cutting, storing, glazing with natural oil..)

    March :
    Precise wood cutting with master woodworker Markus,
    Manufacture and set up wall elements, wooden roof structure..

    April:
    Place the around 600 straw bales inside the roof construction (insulation) and finally cover the roof with trapezoidal sheet metal, install gutters etc

    2nd block:
    May / June / July:
    Working inside: install partition walls, electrics, start working on bathrooms and first clay plaster

    3rd block
    August: Next delivery of 2000 straw bales - the insulation material - and place them inside the framework (walls). First parts can be plastered with with clay ... during this time we can need a lot of helping hands and want to offer workshops how to work with clay! ...... we will inform you about the exact process...

    --------------------------------------------------------------
    -> German version :)
    1.Block:
    Ab Februar:
    Vorbereitung z.B. Holz-Böcke bauen und Balken fürs Haus sägen
    → alle Dachbalken und Bretter mit Lasur vorbereiten
    → Gerüst aufbauen!

    Ab März:
    Genauer Holzzuschnitt mit Holzbaumeister Markus, Balken zu Wandelementen verschrauben und aufstellen,
    Dachaufbau (First und Sparre, Deckenbalken)

    Ab April:
    Dach mit Strohballen isolieren und mit Trapezblech eindecken, Dachrinnen etc. montieren

    2.Block:
    Mai/Juni/Juli: Zwischenwände aufbauen, Elektrik und Sanitär installieren, erster Lehmputz

    3.Block:
    August: Nächste Lieferung Dämmmaterial :) Danach 2000 Strohballen in die Wände stecken und mit Lehm verputzen... in dieser Zeit können wir viele helfende Hände brauchen und wollen Workshops zur Arbeit mit Lehm anbieten!
    ......über den genauen Ablauf informieren wir noch.......
    ————————————————————


    We always need help with the daily work, like cleaning and cooking together. In general our meals are vegetarian and we try to grow and produce at least parts of every meal by ourselfs... but it is importend for us not to be docmatic in our believes (sometimes Pizza is perfect :) )!
    And we defenitly need your helping hands to realize the big plan!!

    We prefer people who can stay longer than 7 days and have a little experience in construction work, sustainabel living and who can help and live quite independently.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    deutsch english spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a "circuswagen" next to the mainhouse. At the moment we can just offer one good room and additional there is enough space for tents, mobile homes or camper vans.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    internet at our place is very limeted, so we dont check mails every day. The next trainstaition is about 15 km away, where we can pick everyone up.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Idyllic
Demolition day :)
The old house





Host ref number: 837946354264