Come and help at my home in beautiful Idyllwild, CA, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 51 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/01/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 13 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Colin Parker and I'm 37, originally from upstate New York. I work in healthcare IT and with my busy schedule could use a lot of help around my place with building projects, landscaping, sculpture art and cleaning. My home is located in the lovely San Jacinto mountain community of Idyllwild.

    During this COVID time I ask that prospective helpers be honest about their level of safety in regards to the virus before coming. I may ask that social distancing practices be followed between the hosts and guests for a duration.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    My home is in a little-known and very beautiful natural area with snowfall in the winter and beautiful seasonal change, even though it's in sunny Southern California! There are lakes, waterfalls, rock climbing, hiking and many scenic spots throughout the Idyllwild area. There is also a lovely community of artists and spiritual friends here.

  • Help

    Help

    Currently I would like help with building projects (carpentry, tile/stone work, glass, plumbing, electrical, flooring), landscaping (tree trimming, planting, gardening, mulching, irrigation), and art/creative projects (nature mandalas/shrines, sculptures, LED lighting, arduino). I am prepared to guide and instruct helpers as needed so no qualifications are needed. I also have all of the tools that are needed for each project.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have an extra bedroom with a private bathroom and three beds as well as a separate mini-cabin and outdoor bathroom for our workaway guests. In the kitchen there is mostly organic food including lots of smoothie ingredients, salads, and other healthy vegetarian victuals. I have a vegetarian policy for the property/kitchen. I also request that no drugs or alcohol be brought onto the premises. If tobacco is an absolute must, I request that its use is constrained to the front driveway area.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Idyllwild is a nature-lovers paradise with hiking, rock climbing, kayaking, swimming, and lots of unique spots to explore. If a guest does not have personal transportation then I am able to pick them up in Palm Springs area or Riverside area. A train can be taken from LAX/Los Angeles. I can also arrange something for people coming from San Diego.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have a very high speed internet connection.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 173669881249