Help on a small ecological family farm, in Uruguay, near Montevideo

  • Favourited 466 times
  • Last activity: 25 Jun 2024



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    We (myself, my husband, three local employees and our children of 7, 13 and 16 years old) run a small ecological family farm, a so-called “chakra”, in Uruguay, near Montevideo. We grow a great variety of vegetables and fruits, which we sell at the local organic market in Montevideo and shops specialising in organic products. We also have chicken, several dogs and cats.

    We are looking for open-minded, easy-going and flexible persons, who like being around people and to bring in their own ideas. We offer a beautiful location, an insight in our farming and a friendly atmosphere. You will be a part of the family.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As a traveller you can benefit from our knowhow in the area of organic farming and South American agriculture. Since we have a great diversity of tasks to do, it's a lot about learning by doing and experiencing every day something new.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    On our farm there is a great variety of work to be done, depending also on your skills, preferences and strengths. Examples are sowing, ploughing, harvesting and preserving vegetables and fruits, cooking, painting tasks around the house and looking after the children.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    italiano frances español

  • Accommodation


    We live in a traditional Uruguayan countryside house and our workawayers will live either in the main house or, in summer, in our idyllic chicken trailer or in a tent in the garden.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our farm is located at 15 km from Montevideo. The city centre is reachable by public transport in 45'.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 835987126779

Feedback (26)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.7)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Share our daily life in the countryside in Sierras de Rocha, Uruguay
Petsitting help for our dogs and cats in Aguas Dulces, Rocha, Uruguay