Help us in beautiful Breton countryside, France

Country

France

Favourited 101 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    14  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/12/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    158

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Bonjour !
    We live in a 1960’s house in a village just outside the medieval town of Quintin. The coast and university city of Saint Brieuc are just 15kms away. It's a lovely French area with lots of country walks and countryside. The spectacular Rose granite coast is around a one hour drive away and is definitely not to be missed!

    There are lots of memorials, monuments and old medieval French towns full of history and character to explore in this area too if anyone is interested in that sort of thing.
    Our home overlooks the village football field, tennis courts and dog agility field so there is often something happening nearby. My husband is self employed (builder/maintenance) but I am retired so am at home most of the day.
    We have two non boisterous and friendly dogs who think everyone is there either to fuss, feed or play with them! - I do ask that any helpers must be true animal lovers, not merely tolerate their existence. (We also have caged birds living in the house so we maybe not suitable for anyone with an allergy or fear of birds - although they are NEVER out of the cage!). There is a cat who lives outside and should NEVER be allowed in the house.

    Your help now would be greatly appreciated around the house and in the palm beds. The garden is always crying out for attention. This is 'light' work weeding and painting garden walls and furniture and not heavy digging or suchlike.
    An outdoor garden shed would greatly benefit from a rub down and a fresh coat of paint, as would a bench.
    Palms (Australian cordylines) are in need of having dead flower heads removed and assisting me to take them to the nearby rubbish tip.

    I'm very happy to offer regular language assistance / practice on a 1-2-1 basis to anyone wishing to perfect their English language skills.

    We are not 'clock-watchers' here doing fixed hourly ‘schedules’ and routines - every day tends to brings differing priorities in this household.

    Age is no restriction here but due to the type of area where we live, the lack of night-life and severely restricted public transport, this would possibly be of more interest to older people rather than lively teenagers who need pubs, concerts, clubbing and the bright city lights for entertainment.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Help

    Help

    By having a workawayer in our home, I hope to get some of those smaller household or garden tasks completed which have been outstanding for awhile now.

    Your help would be greatly appreciated around the house and in the garden - light gardening/weed clearance as necessary would be great.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, a little french (but would like to improve)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our home is modern with central heating and all mod cons (no air-con though). Wi-fi is available if you bring your tablet or laptop. We can offer one bedroom with your own (attached) private en-suite shower room / toilet. French or English TV is available in a separate lounge area, also I have a large selection of (multi-language) DVDs available for relaxing in the evenings if you wish.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This is a strictly non-smoking household and I can smell the stench of cigarettes a mile away in a gale force wind!. Therefore I do request any smokers to use the terrace or driveway for their habit. I’m really very sorry, but I cannot make any exceptions to this - even in inclement weather.

    Don't forget your health & personal insurance, you are not covered in any way on our insurance. UK residents get the form from the post office to say you have UK national health cover or France will expect you to pay up front & claim it back later - also it only covers for medical expenses, not the ambulance nor any inpatient expenses of hospital stays, so it is always advisable to have extra cover.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 at the absolute max per day, mostly a lot less!








Host ref number: 946446654429