Experience life off-grid, learn about nature and help on our land and house in Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 17 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We, Ingrid, 54 years, and Kees, 56 years, are two people who love each other and who love to live our lives as good and intens as possible. We lived untill May 2017 in the Netherlands and have two sons, Teun, 23 years, and Drik, 20 years. Both our sons study in the Netherlands and come to visit us on a regulary base. We emigrated to Portugal to live our lives in a environment where we realy can learn to be our selves as much as possible and in and with Nature. We build wooden houses on the land and have two dogs, six chickens and four pigs. All our animals live free on the land. We feel as the richest people on earth whitout caring about money.
    In the neighbourhood we have a lot of good people, mostly Portugese and some German, English, Dutch and Belgians.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can experience how it is to live off-grid and learn about Nature around and in you. You can learn to shoot arrows with a bow and how to live and work in Nature.
    You also can learn to understand other people and yourself more. Most important you can learn to be respected by deserving it and respect others because they deserve it.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for someone who loves to help on our land and house. Possible things to do are picking fruits in October, November and December, cutting bushes and making hydrolate, prune blackberries and other plants, taking care of the animals, gathering firewood and making fences. We live off-grid and in and with Nature. Sober, with comfort and the luxery to experience real life. We only do things when we love to do them and take a lot of time to enjoy living in Alentejo near Odemira in Portugal. One of our activities is archery, bowshooting. This can be done on our land also.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Dutch, English, German.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The land is about 5 ha on a hillside with a little lake. On the land are corktrees and medronheiros. It is calm and quietly and at some distance, about 500 meters, from the houses in the nearest little village.

    We have a good insulated wooden gasthouse for one, two ore three people, with a cooking place, sink, heating, table and chairs, toilet, 12 volt electricity and beds.
    The main house is also a wooden building and there is a wooden bath house with a hottub and shower.
    There is a little barn for storage and working and a little chickenbarn and a little barn for the four porcos pretos (pigs).
    We cook almost every day in the evening and have breakfast and lunch. You can eat on your own ore with us, whatever you love to do. We eat all kind of food and mostly healty food. We drink water that we buy in the store and use bathingwater from a lake nearby. This clear and healthy water we go and get once in a while and pump it in our watercontainer.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can help us with all kind of little works. We have always different things to do so you can choose. We don`t work during the whole day and not every day so there is a lot of time to fill in for your selve. In the neighbourhood you can walk, ride with a 4x4 through the hills, go to the beach at he Atlantic ocean, there are many little villages to visit and a lot of activities of all kind.
    Because we live off-grid in Nature we respect our land, the surroundings and the environment. We try not to dispose any kind of chemicals or harmful materials in Nature. We are not religious and try to live without money and with love as much as we can.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 4 days a week

Host ref number: 834477463313