Join our self sustainable family farm and help with weeding, planting and animal care in Paparoa, New Zealand



 Min stay requested: 1 week or less



  • Description


    Hello we are Tristan, Ruby and Mae. Tristan and Ruby are in their early 30s and Mae is 3 months old. We are aiming to live a more sustainable life, grow our own organic food, and to rescue more animals in the future. Available from Jan 2024

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have 6 ducks, four cats, three sheep and three cows. All pets. We will have chickens in January. There will be a lot to learn about keeping animals and how they help us grow organic food.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    No particular skills are needed, but we are most keen on couples or pairs of work awayers. It would also be beneficial to be physically fit as there is plenty of physical work to do. We require help mainly with weeding around our gardens. There might be some work planting native trees. The animals we have are mostly friendly and you can spend some time relaxing with them.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    We have a cabin overlooking our pond. With a queen-sized bed, chest of drawers, and coffee and tea making station. Cooking will be done in our kitchen as the cabin doesn't yet have facilities. A toilet and shower is currently being built. As we have a new born we would love someone who enjoys cooking who could do some meals for us. We will pay for/grow the food.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are in a great location to explore Northland. We are 2 hrs north of Auckland, 1hr from Kai Iwi lakes. 1 and a half hrs from Waipoua forest, 22mins from Waipu Gorge scenic reserve, 50 mins from Waipu caves, 40 minutes from Mangawhai heads beach, 55 minutes from Whangarei where the Hundertwassa.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have space for a large camper. It will be parked next to fruit trees, a shade house and above ground mineral pool.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 829399589161

Feedback (2)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Join our family of five, living in Te Anau, New Zealand
Help our family in this beautiful spot in Kaeo, New Zealand