Come and help with decorating in my house by the sea in Hastings, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 337 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/08/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    55.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 57 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I need help with decorating and DIY in my home overlooking the sea on the south coast of England. I am an artist and teacher. I have a studio space in the apartment which volunteers are welcome to use. Hastings is a mecca for creative characters and has a lively and varied music scene. I am fairly quiet and spend quite a lot of time reading, meditating and painting but I also like enjoying the vast range of cafes, pubs and restaurants on offer locally. This placement would probably suit a slightly older self-reliant person ( over 25) who enjoys some of the activities I do and is also happy to spend some time alone sightseeing or reading/using their computer in their own room. Although it might also suit a younger person who enjoys a peaceful environment. This will probably be a project with just one person so it's not that suitable for someone who wants a lot of English conversation.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Help

    Help

    I would really like help with DIY and decorating but help with spring cleaning would also be welcome. As it is a placement for only one person you would have to enjoy some time alone and speak enough English to make yourself understood. I am happy to show you the sights and recommend good places to visit locally.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Self contained bedroom sharing bathroom with one other. Food for simple vegetarian meals provided. You would prepare your own meals and clear up after yourself. although sometimes we could cook together.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Hastings is a lovely historic town with plenty of things to see and do. The Old Town dates back to medieval times and is full of traditional English pubs and more modern wine bars and restaurants.Hastings is also full of quirky shops, art galleries and cafes so there is plenty to see in your free time. You can also spend time painting or making things in my studio space. Or there is plenty of space for meditation/yoga/ tai chi etc. As I live alone and need some time and space to myself every day this will suit someone who also enjoys some space and time alone or who enjoys going out and about to meet people on their own. But I am happy to be sociable for part of each day and will introduce you to people locally.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day with two days off per seven day week.

Workawayer on the balcony.
Old town Hastings - 30 mins walk from my house.
Beach from my house.
My street.
My street.
St Leonards gardens - five minutes walk from my house.
View from the balcony at low tide.
View from my balcony at high tide.






Host ref number: 827939263461