Help growing trees and build a family camp in our ecovillage in North-West Russia

Country

Russia

Favourited 187 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    45

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We're a family of 4 people: Vladimir (38), Julia (31) and our two kids. We live in an ecovillage, re-inhabiting 5 abandoned villages, wich were abandoned for almost 30 years. Since 2012, on this land we're building a new ecovillage ). We have a lake near us (1 km), young forests, a national park (4 km), no big cities (30+ km).

    Our family is mostly into growing trees, biodiversity and community building. We have 4 ha of land (10 acres) on which we have a tree nursery where we grow hundreds to thousands of trees yearly, plant them nearby and sell some.

    We also grow some vegetable to feed ourselves and our helpers. But we're not a sustainable farm and we don't grow all our food — we mostly buy it, because it saves us some time to work with the trees. We plan to become sustainable in the future, but we're farm from there yet.

    In 2019, our top priorities are tree care and building a family camp. When we're done, we'd like to set up two trails 5 and 13 km long, a botanical garden, a large playground for local children. We'll also do occasional farm keeping and construction work at our community site and neighbors, harvest herbs, berries and mushrooms, etc. If you like animals, we families with goats, cows, birds and a horse, who'd love to get your help.

    That's what we do and need help with. Planting trees, growing some vegetables, cleaning up forests, construction work, etc. If that sounds interesting — welcome! We will let you know everything we know about growing trees, permaculture and (almost) autonomous living. We speak English, but if you're learning Russian, we'd be glad to help.

    We're a last minute host also. If you have a Russian visa, but your host changed their plans -- feel free to come to us. We're open from April to September.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Many people visit us, all with different backgrounds. They learn agriculture and permaculture specifically, learn about growing trees and forests, and teach each other whatever they know, like irish dancing, performing with poi or how to make a bow yourself.

  • Help

    Help

    Pplanting and nursing trees, building a family camp. Construction, farm keeping.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Russian, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a campsite where helpers stay. We have a tiny earthbag house where 4 helpers can sleep, a patio like common space with a kitchen and a fireplace, some wooden tents. If you have a tent, please take it with you (and a sleeping bag and whatever else is needed). We provide vegetarian breakfast, lunch and dinner (3 meals a day), days off as needed.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have a lake near us (1 km), a national park (4 km), Sebezh (an old small town) in 30 km, Belarus in 15 km, Latvia in 50 km.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Our hostel burned down on June 18th, 2017. We're building a new one now.
Planting tree seeds and mulching.
English oaks, 2 years old.
Preparing clay for a small building.
Ginkgo tree seedling.





Host ref number: 824565478613