Short-term helper with digital skills for a survivor project in Crete, Greece

Country

Greece

Favourited 114 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/11/2021

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I've recently moved to Crete and I work on a UK-based project remotely (online) which I would love help with. In exchange for around 2/3 hours a day I will feed you delicious food, drink and host you in our house. I live with my partner in a tiny village in the mountains. The beaches are not too far away (although not walking distance).

    The project I run check - is a survivor-run organisation that changes systems, creates new structures, dismantles rape culture and supports all survivors. It is an educational platform, a mutual support space, a basic accessible fund for survivors of rape and sexual violence and a movement.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am happy to show you beautiful places or teach you vegan cooking and greek dishes. I am not Greek, I am originally from the UK, but I can show you the places I love here.

  • Help

    Help

    The help would be admin tasks on the computer for the project I run . If you have your own laptop it is very useful. We would work along side each other for around 2.5-3.5 hours a day. The rest of the time you are free to do what you want or if you want to hang out I can take you places like beaches or walks around here or we can do some cooking or go to a local taverna.

    The tasks would be things like emails, social media, marketing, research and proofreading for the project. No experience needed for this but because of the nature of the work it is important that you have an understanding of sexism, rape culture, intersectionality and are queer-friendly, anti-racist, anti-classist, anti-transphobic and sex-positive. The project exists to help rebuild the systems that cause harm and oppression, tackle male violence, create real safety and change attitudes around recovery and healing.

    I am not looking for long-term help it is better for me that you request last-minute and the stay is between a few days to two weeks maximum. This is because I don't have a fixed schedule and won't always be here. It is for someone who is travelling through Crete and would like to have a shorter exchange.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be staying in a house with me and my partner. You can sleep on the sofa bed upstairs in the living room or a room downstairs (there isn't lots of privacy as the house doesn't have closing doors just doorways).
    It is in a village with a shop and a couple of coffee houses but there's not much around here. It is beautiful though. It is in the mountains so there are beautiful walks near by. The beach is 15/20 min drive away. If anyone is going down you can come or be dropped there. I try to go to the beach most days. The beaches here are beautiful.
    I will cook for you while you are here. All the food I cook is vegan. I worked as a chef for years so the food will be good.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 hours a day


Host ref number: 154813522459