Developing a small eco-farm with permaculture garden and reforestation project in Aljezur, Portugal

Country

Portugal

updated  

Favourited 326 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Some people wonder why I do the things I do.
    I wonder why they don't.



    Hello and bom dia!

    Thank you for visiting my profile. I hope everything is clear, and makes you wanna come live and work here for some time.
    If you have any question, don’t hesitate to contact me.

    I’m Dirk (57), living in this wonderful part of South Portugal since a couple of years.

    In a former live, I worked as a photographer and in tourism. I've been travelling as much as I could, in many European countries as well as in Morocco, Reunion-Island, India and others. Backpacking and Couchsurfing as well as in 5 star hotels.
    Now I settled on 4,5 hectares of beautiful land in the amazing Algarvian west coast, taking care about 2 dogs, one cat and around 100 free living chicken.

    I'm interested in music, Arts, movies, photography, philosophy, reading, meeting new people and discover new countries and cultures. I'm curious and open-minded and like to share experiences with people from all around the world!
    I love unspoiled nature, the ocean, the laughing of a child, forests, water, and ... silence.
    I do meditation, yoga and massages, and introspection, reflection and personal development are very important for me.

    And, currently the most important: I’m interested in environmental questions. I think it's highly time to change our perverted economic system, and to come back to a simpler, more spiritual live. Slow and close to nature.

    I’m vegetarian, no smoker, and I speak German, French and English – and absolutely have and want to learn Portuguese.

    2019 I bought this beautiful small farm, with a typical Portuguese taipa (rammed earth) house and 4,5 ha of beautiful land in this amazing region.
    The farm is composed by an endemic forest (cork oak, arbutus and pine), a fruit tree plantation (mandarin, orange, olive, fig, apple, plum, pear, apricot, lemon, …), a vineyard, some not cultivated land and a small garden.

    The farm is 10 minutes driving to Aljezur, a beautiful small village with all facilities (shops, restaurants, markets, laundries, internet, busses to Lisbon…) and 20 minutes to the greatest beaches in the region.

    I will host for at least 2 weeks and as long as it is comfortable for you and me. We usually work together 4-5 hours / day, 5 days a week, with Saturday and another day - depending on the weather - free. We usually discuss all of this together when you arrive to have the best time together.


    Obrigado, see you soon,
    Dirk


    Living intensely every moment...
    When walking, walk. When eating, eat. When reading, read.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As we live somehow together during your stay, there is a lot of time for exchange and sharing. And enough free time for everybody to have his program or follow his own interests.

  • Help

    Help

    If you have some special skills in permaculture gardening, natural build techniques (rammed earth building), carpentry / wood constructions, it would be just perfect.

    And if you like cooking, give yoga lessons, do massage, like gardening or taking care about animals, its fine as well.
    In fact a lot of things are to do here, we will find a work for you in any case – if you’re really willing to work seriously and help to develop the place.

    I would be happy if you’re open minded, respectful and curious.

    Some examples about what to do next:
    - Installation of an irrigation system
    - Constructing of several pergolas (wood)
    - Pruning grapevines
    - Pruning orange trees
    - Constructing storages (wood)
    - Constructing a compost toilet
    - Installing tanks to collect rainwater from the roofs
    - Starting a little vegetable organic (permaculture) garden
    - Building light constructions (a small green house, an outside shower, …)
    - Constructing stone walls
    And for sure the regular stuff, like feeding the animals, cleaning the chicken house, cooking, house cleaning, …

    We would define together witch work you can and want to do, it’s useless to ask you tasks you don’t like or are not confortable with.

    I need physical help for all the stuff to do here, but I’m open for good ideas and advices as well.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Portuguese: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I really would like (and have) to learn Portuguese… And it would not be bad to improve my English as well.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will sleep in a confortable bed, either in your own room or in a beautiful small wooden cottage. Should I have lots of requests you might have to share your room with other Workawayers, but I would mention this before your arrival.
    And, if you have your own camper-van or caravan, you’re welcome as well, you can park on the land.

    The environment is peaceful and the nights amazingly silent (if the dogs don’t bark and until the roosters wake you up in the morning).
    You can use Wi-Fi (not very fast), the washing machine and the bathroom with hot water.

    Depending on the daily program and our common wish, we can cook and eat together (which was normally the case up to now), and in any case the kitchen is at your disposal.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Wifi is here, but sometimes the connection is slow…

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Lot's of space…

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Around 4 hours a day, 4-5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








Host ref number: 636573948791