Help bring to life a new community project in Calabria (Italy)

Country

Italy

updated  

Favourited 26 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    72.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, we're Sole, Lingam and the little Suami born in 2015. Since 2014 we moved to Verbicaro (Cosenza, Calabria), buying for few money and restructuring a little house in the almost abandoned historical center. After two years traveling and experiencing community life in Calabria, we came back home and bought a 3.5 hectares land, 300 meters altitude, with a great sea view on the tirrenic coast, olive trees, fruit trees, water springs and two buildings.
    Immediately we thought to share this place with other families carrying on a life project about homeschooling, growing together in awareness and self-sufficiency. We also projected to repopulate the historical center in order to create a spread community.

    At the moment we're living in our camper and we're starting a big garden to grow our own vegetables. We cleaned and reactivated 2 springs with water storage so that we can water gardens and trees. The flat and weakly sloped areas have been cleaned from blackberry bush and other vegetation, but there are areas that still need to be cleaned.
    We created an open kitchen near the big common caravan.
    We also created a shower and a basic washing place for clothes.
    In order to make the place more comfortable and welcoming we're going to build a composting toilet.
    To make all these projects real we need support from pioneers interested in the project.

    Since we have a 4 years kid we also need to maintain our family rhythms and habits, so we prefer to host other families with kids or very independent people.
    We usually follow natural rhythms, meaning that we go to sleep quite early and wake up at sunrise.

    The project will evolve in the next years building a school with common kitchen and composting toilet and a circular structure for spiritual and recreational common activities. Green building, small dimensions and landscape integration will be our principles for buildings.

    We live 5 km away from the village of Verbicaro on a secondary road 2 km away from the main one where you can get a ride or a bus, 15 km from Scalea and 20 from Diamante.
    If you want to help us and live surrounded and lead by nature, contact us!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are quite experienced in wild life, green building with wood and cob, harvesting and cooking wild herbs, producing herbal oil and cream, natural soap and toothpaste.
    during winter we also produce homemade chocolate.
    we grew up our child with a high-contact approach.
    Sole follows a group of women circles, practices meditation and is interested in spiritual growth.
    She likes playing hukulele and singing.
    She also produces handcraft objects such as dolls, puppies, dream catchers and ojos de dios.
    Lingam studied organic farming and is interested in permaculture, green building and beekeeping.

  • Help

    Help

    we need people skilled in building with natural and up-cycled materials, permacultural landscape design, natural gardening. we also need kids and adults skilled in "playing".

    during june we will need help starting a new organic garden and setting the irrigation system.
    we need people skilled in water facilities to set one or two water places and phytoremediation.
    meanwhile we need to prevent blackberries to grow again by digging their surface roots.
    workawayers can help us making the place more comfortable and welcoming for new volunteers.
    in july we will start building a composting toilet with vegetal material and cob.
    we will also dig a drainage channel to prevent water flooding.
    weeding and watering the gardens will always be a simple but necessary occupation.
    we can also ask you to help cooking and staying with kids.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Italiano, english, español

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We can host people and families in their own campers, caravans or tents, very adaptable to situations with few comforts.
    We have a big caravan for hosting volunteers that will be used also as common space and storage room, and a little one only for hosting.
    the tent accommodation is really basic, something like a rainbow gathering or an "into the wild" camping. There are some flat areas or some more private but slightly sloped areas where you can set your tent.
    Please bring your own sleeping bag , towel, working clothes and shoes and a torch.
    If you can't travel with sleeping bag we can provide it.
    Since we don't have water depuration don't bring any soap, shampoo, toothpaste: we only use our homemade natural soap and clay with dried herbs as natural toothpaste, and don't bring any unnecessary things, especially plastic.
    Be responsible for all your stuff and don't leave anything in the place, especially garbage.
    we bring drinkable water from the village (5 km), we still don't have a composting toilet (we use hoe and bottle), no electricity. We have a very small solar panel for charging smartphones once a day. You really need to be a pioneer.

    We cook in a very simple way, trying to use natural and garden resources and buy as little as possible.
    We follow a vegan diet and avoid the use of drugs, included alcohol and tobacco.
    We share lunch but we prefer to have breakfast and dinner separately, providing food that you can cook.
    We provide a very basic breakfast, if you have particular needs, buy your favorite food before arriving at our place. Shops are not very close from here!
    We would like to host people in line or respectful with these choices.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are close to Pollino mountain Park (10 km) and to tirrenic coast (10 km).
    There is also a cold river (5 km) called Abate Marco.
    We don't have a car, so we can't give you a ride anywhere.
    There are few buses a day except on Sundays (no buses).
    Hitchhiking works quite well, after you walk 2 km to the main road.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    max 25 hours


Host ref number: 586964654784