Lend a hand with home renovations in our little community in the mountains of Albanchez, Almeria, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 293 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    68  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/07/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    325

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello,
    Due to the coronavirus situation, we can only receive volunteers from the province of Almería and people who have done the test with a negative result. Our people are very proud to be without positive cases and the plan is to continue like this.
    We need help with vegetables and construction. Get in touch if you would like to work with us in a quiet environment and in the middle of nature.

    Hola,
    Por la situación del corona-virus solamente podemos recibir voluntarios de la provincia de Almería y personas que han hecho el test con resultado negativo. Nuestro pueblo esta muy orgulloso de ser sin casos positivos y el plan es seguir así.
    Nos hace falta ayuda con las verduras y la construcción. Ponte en contacto si te gustaría trabajar con nosotros en un ambiente tranquilo y en el medio de la naturaleza.

    We are a happy couple 53 and 51 years old living outside the little village of Albanchez, Almeria, Andalucia, in the very south of Spain. Tonje from Oslo, Norway and Eduardo Spanish grown up here. We live in an old farm house called a 'cortijo'. A house which used to be populated with both people and animals separate under the same roof. The cortijo has a cave inside used as a storage room for food oil wine etc. We live in a small group of houses in the municipality of Albanchez, Almeria. Five people live permanent but there are several families coming on weekends, vacation and longer stays during the year. Dogs and cats also make this the friendly place it is to live in. We both have children and grandchildren busy with studies, work and family. Eduardo's back has gotten very bad and we now have problems finish building the house and taking care of the agriculture business. We love cooking and enjoy experimenting. We are interested in changing the environment by thinking permaculture solutions and need help to make our dreams come through. We have also been participating as citizen scientists in the GROW Observatory project. Tonje speaks Spanish, Norwegian and some German. Eduardo Spanish. The house has unlimited wifi.
    We are open minded and easy going. We have had workawayers since November 2016 and wish new friends welcome.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We offer a variety of tasks and you can practice your Spanish in a beautiful authentic environment. Our philosophy is to protect the antique and old traditions as much as possible and you might learn some new ways of solving challenges.
    The village, Albanchez, is as close you can walk there in 40 minutes or use our bicycle - any ways we're happy to take you there with one of our cars. Once a week we go shopping in Albox which has supermarkets and shops of all kinds ( also a nice market on Tuesdays). There are 4 bars in the village, some with free wifi. The population counts approximately 700 inhabitants, the colony of English expats included. In the neighbour village Olula del Rio there is an interesting art museum with their own collection of Goya. You can connect or disconnect to the busy world as you like. We live outside the village with peace nature and a marvellous star view at night. In July and August the town hall provides the village with a public pool completly renovated 2018.

  • Help

    Help

    We need 1 person or two friends who can share a double bed or simply a couple. At the moment Eduardo is alone in the house until February 24 but can any time be called in for an operation. As long as he is at home he'll need help with building and agriculture. And if the hospital calls we need house sitting. Someone who can feed the animals and look after the house.

    We have some farming going on around the year for our own use.
    We need help to finish the extension of the road outside the house.
    Renovating an old traditional rustic Andalucian farm house. The cave inside the house needs to be finished.
    Building with traditional materials ( yeso, caña, natural stones, wooden beams) and modern ( bricks, cement etc), electricity installations, painting and cleaning inside and outdoor.
    We also need people to help out growing, weeding and harvesting organic vegetables and feed the chickens.
    The kind of help also depends on which season it is. Examples: In the winter months we pick olives. Summer agriculture. Late summer harvesting and a lot of preserving vegetables and little bit of wine making. Our days never look the same. Some days there are many tasks and others less so you have to be a flexible person who can deal with changes.
    We need responsible grown up handy people. Some building experience is an advantage but not necessary.
    You will be instructed with patience.
    You will benefit on having a driving license.
    If you know anything about permaculture it would be marvellous. We know very little but wish to improve.
    You have to speak Spanish as Eduardo doesn't speak English.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Norwegian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    At the moment we have one guestroom with a double bed in the house. In the first place we wish to live with the workawayers but we also have the possibility to use the neighbour house which is also ours. Bathroom and kitchen are modern.
    We offer breakfast and two meals (comida and cena). You buy your own wine/ beer and snacks.
    Note that our traditional life style will probably not be compatible with vegan lifestyle unless you are open minded. We have had many vegetarians and that worked very well.
    We don't accept any drugs!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are multiple activities and interesting places to visit in the area. This is a rural place situated in the mountains on the east end of Sierra de los Filabres not too far away from the Mediteranean Sea (45-50 minutes drive), The Alhambra (Granada only 2 hours by car), nature in the mountains ( Sierra de Baza and Los Filabres) as in the sea ( Cabo de Gata) typical white andalucian villages, Mini Hollywood (famous for being the place where the spaghetti western movies with Clint Eastwood were filmed and also the epic film 'Lawrence of Arabia' among others and recently 'Game of Thrones'). The local area is perfect for hiking long or short walks.
    The climate is dry and warm very little rain through the year. Fantastic place for ornitology interesting fauna and flora with many protected species. Cycling is a popular sport. Also nice roads for biking or just exploring the area with a car.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Marlon, Marisa and Anna at the public pool in Albanchez.
Eduardo and Eva-Rose discussing agriculture and practising Spansh.
Jayne, Joan and Eduardo preparing for the new drain behind the house.
Estefania with her favorite tool.
Happy workawayers peeling grilled peppers. James, Lydia, Santiago, Anja, Amit and a little bit of Eduardo. November 2016.
Amit and James learning to use a two wheeled tractor. November 2016.
Sunday expedition to La cueva del agua with James, Marco, Lydia, Santiago and Joao the dog. November 2016.
Expedition to La cueva del agua. November 2016.
Eduardo teaching Lydia and Santiago how to work with yeso. November 2016.
Rivazo (stone terrace) finished and represented by James, Lydia and Santiago. November 2016.
Steinar from Norway picking olives. January 2016.
Nina from Norway making wine. September 2016.
Cortijo Ramon. Our house.
Hosts Eduardo and Tonje.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








































Host ref number: 824426961948