Help me teaching English to the children of my village and discover real Javanese hospitality in Temanggung, Indonesia

Country

Indonesia

Favourited 125 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    16  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/04/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1598

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Gideon

    Now, I work as a cameramen in a local television, near my house. Beside that, I'm active in social organisation based on education especially for kids.

    I start it an English community based education at my village specially for kids/children. Indeed, I think that improving their English skills could help the child for their future job and also develop my village.

    My village is between two mountains, Sumbing and Sindoro. We have beautiful scenery. Mostly we plants tobacco and coffee. We produce great quality of tobacco as well as coffee.

    That's is me, tobacco, coffee and English based community education that I want to share with.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Here you can get more experiences. Knowing peoples and culture. You can learn about life, villagers life style. You can learn about Javanese culture, such as dance, language, gamelan music (traditional music), our myth, Javanese essence of life (Kejawen). Farming, specially coffee, tobacco, chili, corn, and many more.
    I'm also cameraman for Temanggung TV, so I would probably bring you one or two times at my work to show you how our local TV is working.

  • Help

    Help

    We need you who can teach English for the people in my place (village). We need someone who love to a children and hopefully can blend with them because most of our 'student' will be a children.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Indonesian: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    For accommodation, you can stay at my house. I have 1 room empty.

    For reach market from my home we need 15 minutes by motorcycle.

    I can provide the meals 3 times a day with a Javanese meals or traditional food.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can take the flight to Yogyakarta. And then take a bus to Magelang, the nearest city from Temanggung. And then I pick you up in Magelang.

    There is no wifi in the village, but you can have internet with the sim card data.

    I have a lot experiences with volunteers. My English teacher is an workaway members to. So if he have guest, sometimes I accompany the guest. Travelling or go somewhere.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a garage, not to big. Its already a car there, but workawayer can use in front of our garage. Not for permanently

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.6)












Host ref number: 823181775696