A beautiful off-grid Quinta, likes to share and improve a sustainable life with like minded people, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 116 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/04/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    In the Serra do Açor (central Portugal), I live in a remote beautiful off-grid Quinta with several original rebuild slate stone houses and barns, together with two lovely dogs.
    I am in my end fifties and left a busy former world behind to live a sustainable life. Out of the city, back to nature, enjoying the land, fresh air and the wild life around. Deer, foxes, wild boar, birds and our bees are just a few of the animals who share their land with me. As there are no streetlights anywere around there are great starlit night skies! I like music; singing, dance, Healing Tao, Thich Nhat Hanh, woodworking, photography and most of all taking care of the land. I value the peaceful tranquillity of the land and like to share this space with like minded people, who also want to leave there busy lives for a while, or just want to relax and have a peaceful chill-out away.
    Maybe it is important for you to know that the cultivated land, the forrest of Oak/divers trees below the Quinta and the Quinta (farmhouses) itself are untouched by the big fires in October 2017, but the pine forests around were burnt. We are working very hard (with volunteers, friends, community) to cut down the burned trees on our land, splitting the wood and to reforest (a lot of help is here needed!), trees from my own nurcery, like Oaks, Corck Oaks, Chestnut, Modronho etc.. I feel very lucky because we are facing a Nature Reserve forrest that still looks pritty much untouched, it is beautiful green, and in springtime there are so many wild flowers around, you can't believe your eyes :-). Everywhere new Pines, other trees and bushes like flowering heather are coming back, Nature is very resilient :-).
    I am part of a fantastic community, and there are lots of activities organized like music, filmnights, reforesting, markets, etc.., lots of fun, and helping eachother out, connecting people.

    Keywords; my two dogs :-), gardening, reforesting, working the land/vegetable gardens, reforesting, team work, music, love for live, having fun, bees, meditation, singing, dance, flowers, new innovating ideas, minerals and stones, reading, hiking, cooking, photography, Healing Tao, Thich Nhat Hanh, Art.

    Keywords Quinta and the property: Permaculture, off-grid, sustainable, eco-farm, solar energy, vegatable gardens, Nature, composting, grey water system, olive trees, gardening, chopping firewood, pruning, wood carpentry, forestry, 4 beehives, little river with waterfalls at the bottom of the property, animals, wildlife, adventure, central Portugal, community, music.

    Just to let you know, I am not on facebook or any other, to my feeling, not very reliable social media. Hope you appreciate and respect this kind of privacy I have choosen consiously.

    Not only individual Workawayers asked, but also as from the start of half March beginnen April I would also like to invite Couples who would like to stay long term to help me out with various activities on the Quinta. It would be very welcome to have an own 4x4 car (because of our track, so you would be more self sufficient), know how to work the land like chopping/splitting wood, vegetable gardens (watering etc.), and when I have to go away take care of the Quinta and the dogs. I have a guest house you could stay, shower little kitchen, terras.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I offer a place to experience the alternative way of life. Learn about eco-gardening and many other ways of Off Grid living. The beautiful land and Quinta feels very quiet and peaceful, it may give you more than you would be thinking of. Meet other people who live in the same circumstances, other off-grid family's and artists (musicians, painters, writers, therapists etc). Be your true self (ore find it :-)), language, it is possible here at the Quinta!

  • Help

    Help

    I would like to have help with:

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Rebuilding / revitalising the land that was burnt during the October fires in 2017
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Preparation and maintenance of vegetable gardens
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Forestry: Cutting dead trees, removing undergrowth
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Reforesting
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Preparing firewood. (Chopping and splitting wood)
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Maintenance of the compost facility (What to do and how to use it)
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ (Re)-building (slate stone) walls and stairs. (dry-stone building)
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ General Maintenance work on buildings. (wood treatment, small repairs, cleaning etc.)
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Olive picking (November/December)
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Maintenance of cultivated lands. (Strimming with the bush cutter, removing mimosa, brambles, watering
    gardens etc.)
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ gathering and drying herbs.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ …… and dog-whispering, vegetarian cooking, music making etc. etc. ....
    *️ Cooking : your input in cooking is very welcome!

    I encourage musicians to bring their instrument(s), and Art people also have opportunity to be creative!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Dutch, English, German and basic Portuguese

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have a guesthouse with one double bed (140x200cm), shower, kitchen, toilet, wood burner, with a little terras, located next to our house.

    In exchange of your help, I provide accomodation and vegetarian food. Or, if you like, you could also now and then could make your own food in the guesthouse, and I provide the food.
    (For a long term stay I would like to talk about the conditions).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The nearest village is a 15 minutes walk through nature (10 minutes by 4x4 car). It has a little hotel with café and restaurant (free Wi-Fi). 10 Minutes walk to our nearest neighbours. (Off-grid too).
    We are part of a very nice and inspiring (young) alternative community In the nearby valleys with artists, craftsmen, therapists, musicians, farmers, writers etc. Twice a month there is a eco market where you can pay in the local currency*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️, the Estrella, and Euros. In 2 larger towns not so far away a weekly big market is organised, were you also can buy trees/plants/food/clothes, etc..
    Many events (music, art, dance, movie, workdays, walks, excursions etc.) are organised by the community.
    There are walking tracks close to our Quinta, the National Nature Forrest and beautiful villages nearby. One leads to a beautiful big waterfall very near to our village.
    From the nearby village it is another 20 minutes walk to the next village that has a nice Esplenada with a café, or you could take the local bus which leaves early morning and returns in the end of the afternoon.

    More information about the area you can find under aldeiasdoxisto.pt

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Under certain restrictions.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 143294999851