Come help out our family in Mosfellsbær, a beautiful town close to Reykjavík, Iceland

Country

Iceland

updated  

Favourited 53 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/12/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    95.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our family needs help at daily work things. We have a bunch of kids, 6years, 3, 1,5 (all girls) and not born yet ;) We live in Mosfellsbær, a beautiful town in Iceland, very close to Reykjavík. We don´t tolerate smoking inside the house or in front of the kids, and we prefer someone who has a drivers license. Our kids are raised bilingual, Icelandic-German, so it wouldn't hurt to get someone here who speaks German, but that is not necessary. For those who are interested in horses, there are two that would love to be taken care of more intense... and then there is the cat, completing the family :D

    We had a few requests lately from people that want to work on a farm, so just to be clear: we are not living on a farm! We live in a house in a small town! No farm :)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Horses are a huge part of Icelandic culture, so if there is some interest in that, we have two horses and depending on the riding skills there is the possibility to even go horseback riding. This is just an offer, not part of the job description :)

    Again: we don't have a farm!

    We live both very close to wild nature which is perfect for hiking, bicycle rides or jeep-tours, stuff like that, and also to the big capital city Reykjavík where you can go meet new people, to the cinema or shopping. Museums, whale watching, ice-skating... there is always plenty to do here, Icelanders are not easy to be bored!

  • Help

    Help

    Driving: The 6 years old needs to be driven to school, or the mother, which means about 45 minutes driving one way. This happens every other week.

    Cleaning: vacuuming mostly, cleaning the toilets and (try) to keep it tidy.

    Babysitting; the 3 and the 1,5 years old need to be brought or picked up from kindergarten. This means 5 minutes walking without the kids (with them, you know, it could take 30 minutes or so) occasionally one evening here or there to give us couple some us time :)

    Cooking: Our mealtimes are somewhat unorganized and chaotic, we would like to change that with the help of someone cooking 2 to 3 times a week. This would be something that needs to be talked about and we are happy about every good idea :D

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Icelandic, German, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The guestroom is on the first floor, the rest of the family sleeps upstairs, but the daily life is mostly downstairs, which is basically one very big room that includes kitchen, living room, even a pool-table. A bathroom with a shower and the entrance. We also have a big garden. There is Wi-Fi available a computer as well. There is no TV in the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The neighborhood is rich of kids and having a clean environment and acting respectful, like driving slow and being kind in general is expected. We raise our children open minded in any aspect, we are not religious, but respect any religion, sexuality or gender questions. Also we are not vegan, but we love good vegan food, so no problem there either. An open minded helper is very welcome. Iceland has a beautiful country side, hiking and stuff like that is highly recommended, there is a direct bus connection to the nearest cinema and sports place, also good connections to Reykjavík or further. By agreement the helper can borrow our car. Or a bike.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 821958355744