Come help around our family place in Selfoss, south of Iceland

Country

Iceland

Favourited 231 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    16  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/11/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    899

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 13 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live in a big house on a beautiful farm in Iceland 1 hour away from the capital, 15 min to the next town. The family consist of me and my 4 year old, two very active lovely dogs, three cuddly cats, some chicken and we have some cuddly ridable horses. I'm in a Search and Rescue team and one of the dogs is a certified SAR dog. Language of the house is icelandic but I speak also norvegian, danish, english, portuguese and a bit of spanish&french. And there is a brewery next house and a bubble hotel close by :)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The stay is in a farming environment and partcipating in all countryside events is optional. Most of the popular tourist attractions are not far away. Perfect place to see the northern lights in winter and for bird watching. Participating in the dog trainings is also an option and horseriding out of shape horses if interested😊 learning icelandic ofcourse.

  • Help

    Help

    So I am looking for someone that could help out with the household like helping with keeping the house resonably clean 🙂, hopefully cooking occationally or even often :). Taking out the dogs if needed and babysitting specially if I am going to SAR training or going to callouts, or if I have to work long hours. There are also all sorts of indoor or outdoor projects that can come up.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Icelandic, english, norvegian, danish, portuguese, spanish and french

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Usually I have free a big room in the top floor with a queen size bed in a rather big old house, view from a window over a few active volcanoes. But also a room in the mid floor with "balcony" where the sunset is amazing. Kitchen and living room on the floor below and shower and wc on the ground floor. Working on having a toilet also in the top floor. Meals are normally 3-4 when at home and we eat quite a lot of meat. But meals can be irregular at busy times.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In the time off it is possible some times of the year to do horseriding if you have some previous experience. Travelling with busses or hitchhiking is quite easy from our location. If you have a driving licence a car could be borrowed sometimes.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.3)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (4.5)











Host ref number: 286262915153