Help around the home in Búðardalur, Iceland

Country

Iceland

Favourited 31 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/06/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    88.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a single mom of a 11 years old son and a 16 years old foster daughter. We live in a very little village in the west part of Iceland.
    I love travelling, meeting new people and get to know other cultures.
    I speak Icelandic, English and French fluently (more or less) and then I have also studied Italian, Spanish and Danish. I love learning languages, weather it is to learn more about the languages I already have learned or to learn something new.
    I have worked a lot in the tourist industry in Iceland so I know my way around the country to give recommendation on where to go and what to see. I have also traveled quite a lot out side of Iceland, especially in Europe.

    On top of this I have hosted quite a lot of people at my home, 3 exchange students (2 for 10 months & 1 for 3 months) and then many other people for shorter periods of time. So I am used to have people at my home.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I have good experience in communicating with foreigners so I have a quite good understanding on what is different
    and special about Iceland, although I am always learning something new. I like to talk to people and I like very much to get to know other people and their cultures.

  • Help

    Help

    I am looking for a woman (sorry guys), 25 or older, non smoker, to help around the house, cleaning (both every day cleaning and some extra cleaning), cooking and maybe stay at home with the children if I need to go somewhere. It is important for me that the person is hardworking and has an eye for cleaning. And as a single mom I would love to have an adult to communicate with from time to time ;)

    Although I speak some languages it is very important for me that the help speaks good English to be able to communicate with the children as well (they both speak good English).

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Icelandic: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have a spear room but maybe we will move between rooms after the help arrives.
    I have internet connection although downloads need to be done carefully.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It is very important for you to have a drivers license while staying here (if you want to go somewhere) as there is no public transportation within the area, only to go away. It is possible to walk around the village but if you would like to go to the swimming pool or something like that you would need to drive, and my car is available for shorter trips within the area.
    Other information I would like to give personally to people that are interested.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 978139334935