Help out a family in Amsterdam with childcare and around the house, Holland

Country

Netherlands

Favourited 431 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/09/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, my name is Ilone. let me introduce my family.
    Let's start of with the kids Robin is 11and a 6th grader at the Waldorf school. She is a dog whisperer and biggest wish, came true one year ago, that is our dog Tommy. She loves draw sing and play the piano. Douwe is 9 and a proud 4th grader. He learned to stand on his head from age 2 and since loves to do acrobatics ands just started gymnastics. They both love to cycle, skate, board play outside in the streets of one of our many city parks.

    My partner Joeri is a Sound-engineer and is rebuilding a former church to a music-studio, where he records jazz pop and classical music.

    Me, I started a few years back as a teacher at a Waldorf primary school. Totally fond of teaching and talking about working with children. My former career was interior designer. Needles to say that that we spend a lot of time making things. Building a hut in our townhouse garden, adding a nice feature to our house, or creating artwork, all together with the kids. They call themselves "builders". I believe that the way to bring up children is to create with them.

    Eating together and putting a lot of love in it is a mayor thing in our family. We value food that is grain free, organic food. We not vegetarian but we do love our greens!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learning Dutch
    Learning to cook "Dutch" from scratch

  • Help

    Help

    *Who we are looking for is a SINGLE person who loves to take care of our children, and loves being active with kids.
    * We’re looking for someone to pick up the kids from school by bike, play with the children, practice English, and help prepare dinner and some basic household duties.
    * The working hours will be from the afternoons to the evenings on Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays. During the day you'll take Tommy for a stroll, do some housechores and you have the time for yourself. Thursdays & Fridays and the weekend its up to you! Occasionally the schedule may change, but we’re flexible in accommodating everyone’s schedule.
    *You will have your own private room, and shared meals with the family for free.
    *We like you to speak your own language to our children.
    *We are looking for somebody that has some life experience, so somewhere in your twenties is fine!
    *Staying longer then 2 months is total must with us!

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a 110 m2 townhouse, in a beautiful street passing the local day market. In the back we have our garden. There is an individual room available and we share our bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Netherlands capital, Amsterdam, is full of opportunities all reachable by bike bus or tram. It's central station gets you in few hours in the all the corners of our country but also to Paris or Berlin!

    We live in central Amsterdam, a neighbourhood called Oud-West. When we started living here in 1999 it was an upcoming neightbourhood. Know is one of the places to be, with a place called "The Hallen" which Is a Centre for media, culture, fashion, food and crafts.

    We love to spend our Saturdays in Amsterdam's organic market to do our weekly chopping or go to the local organic farmer. And take time to prepare a lovely family meal. At least twice a month we visit family by car in the beautiful rural parts of the Netherlands.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 4 days a week

Host ref number: 821778932619