Help Granny around our summer house in Balatonakarattya, Hungary

Country

Hungary

Favourited 13 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/08/2017

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    345

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live in Hungary, in a town near lake Balaton. We have an old summer house in a village by the lake. The house has a big garden "forest" around it. My mother in law (70) and her mother (102) live there all the summer. Also in the plot there is a newer guest house, that sleeps five. We work in town, kids are here and there too, so grannys would need some help around sometimes. Guest house is independent. The village, Balatonakarattya is a quiet place, with no disco. The beach is twelve minutes walking distance (payable beach. Free beaches can be found in couple of km-s). The most beautiful "sea view alley" of the lake is six minutes from the house. The bike-road around the Lake passes the house.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They can learn history of the region, and also can get hints for small local excursions.

  • Help

    Help

    The house was built in 1930. Also the trees were planted around then. In the garden a lot of green works are needed. Cutting bushes, cutting branches. Also a pile of wood of the trees that were chopped in the last years is waiting to be cut in pieces. Sometimes there is something to be repaired around the house. Small works regarding this. Granny has also a small vegetable-garden that might need help. A big area of grass is also waiting for lawn-mowing sometimes. As the day is hot in summer, the working hours are before noon or in the late afternoon.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Hungarian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Separate apartment, with kitchenette, living room, bedroom, bathroom. Five beds, two in living room. Terrace. (The washing machine is just for deco and for shelf, but you can use the other one in the old house) Bring your sleeping bag.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Buses are almost every hour to Veszprém town. Also the train line station to reach places in northern Balaton is fifteen minutes. No wifi is available. You can find free wifi in places in the next village.
    Our son (from 2002) will be around more times. he speaks good English. He respects volunteers, since he also would like to volunteer in the summer. in the weekend we may also appear. Granny speaks some basic English, some German.
    No pets on plot (but squirrels, birds, hedgehogs, moles).
    We do not smoke. if you do please do it outside.
    Food can be arranged day by day. However granny can not cook for five persons every day. Count with self-catering as basis, with occasional common meals.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 819966984876