Help with some outdoor tasks, and discover island life on Bowen Island, near Vancouver BC

  • Favourited 87 times
  • Last activity: 29 May 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hoping to get some help for a week in April 2023 !(before Apr 22nd ) Or possibly in mid-May, if April doesn’t work out.

    The main task is to paint a fence that keeps deer out of a yard. There might be some additional yard-work, too (especially if weather doesn’t cooperate for painting). Clearing a small path through the garden that's got overgrown; ordinary stuff like mowing or string-trimming (aka “weed-whacking …

    You would have a nice garden level suite to yourself, shown in the pictures.

    I don’t cook meat, but meals will include salmon and eggs.

    As for Bowen Island : it’s a great place to experience west coast island life in a small community. The house, and a nearby cottage, is 3-1/2 acres in a quiet beautiful spot, but also very convenient as it is not far from where the ferry comes in, and less than 10 minutes walk to “the Cove” where shops and restaurants are. The island itself is just a 20-minute ferry ride from Horseshoe Bay, where there's a bus to downtown Vancouver, so the city is easily reachable. (Many people commute every day.)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our little island (Bowen Island) offers a wonderful taste of the west coast lifestyle in Canada. We're a small population, about 4000. There’s a surprising amount of arts and music activities going on, especially in summer. And there's a local pub, that often has live music. Of course a big appeal is nature, with beautiful places to hike (-some trails starting just one minute from our door) .

  • Help

    Help

    Outdoors tasks: painting a fence that keeps deer out of a yard; re-creating a little path through the garden that's a bit overgrown; other ordinary garden/yard work

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You'll have a nice garden-level suite, with french doors onto a patio.

    This would suit a single workawayer or a couple.

    Cooking is more or less vegetarian, mainly plant-based, plus (local) eggs, and fish (usually salmon)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Bowen Island is a popular day-trip from Vancouver during summer. local businesses offer sea kayaking and stand-up paddleboarding. Some of the local restaurants have live music on the weekend. Meanwhile Vancouver is so near that many people commute. It's just a 20-minute ferry ride to Horseshoe Bay, and from there buses go downtown.

    Our place is walking distance to the Cove where the ferry comes in and where there's a cluster of shops and restaurants.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I can only speak about regular internet use (streaming, and downloads), and internet has always been fine. (This is a small island and if people with more demanding needs had problems, I think I would know about it!)

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    A dog could be ok!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    five hours a day for five days would be great!

Host ref number: 818713759688

Feedback (3)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Mountaineering, canyoning, permaculture, gardening, building and cooking experience in Abbotsford, Canada
Help out on our family homestead in the Cowichan Valley, Vancouver Island, Canada