The best place to live in summertime: Finland and help an old lady

Country

Spain

Favourited 82 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/08/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    76

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, I will make big changes in my life this spring. So that what I have written here is not all fact. I'll try to give more information as soon as I can. Now the situation is, I cannot get voluntier until the autumn, perhaps.

    I am an 85 years old lady and live in the capital of Finland, Helsinki. Helsinki is very fine, cultural town which offers much to do and experience especially in spring, summer and autumn. That is the time I live at my own home. At wintertime I like to live in Spain, Costa del Sol, and do not know, if I'll travell there for next winter.

    In have a car what I use daily when I go out. Generally I love driving it and make trips also other countries, love theater and movies and discussions about global thing, politics and life. I have been widow about 10 years and my family is two children and their children. I am living alone in my three bedroom flat with every modern convenience, WIFI etc. I'd like if have a person who wants to help me - mostly elderly care - max. 20 hours a week. If you have a driving license, it would help especially on long trips.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Elderly Companionship
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I like to give the voluntary a chance to became familiar with Finnish way of life; family, friends, societys etc. We may visit in many museums so that it is free to her. She may learn, that here is more positive things than she had thought.

  • Help

    Help

    I hope you could help me little bit on the mornings to get the clothes on. I like to enjoy breakfast with you on the terrace which you would prepare for us. Because I can't walk long distances, I need person to help pushing the whealchair. Some days you can cook lunch or dinner and do cleaning, washing clothes by machines and help me in shopping.

    I appreciate flexibility from both sides, because some days there might be more hours and some days you get less hours for exchange. You can have plenty of free time to make own trips and meet new people. In Finland you have great opportunity to discover nature, city and take advantage of major cultural events of Helsinki. In front of my outdoor is a station of city bike, 30 € to the end of Octobre without limits. You may look at . and Finland travel guide.

    If you want to travel some other city for couple of days during your staying, I'm happy to give that opportunity.

    I wish you could study and develop yourself for future. What is important; I dont like smoking.

  • Languages spoken

    Finnish: Fluent
    English: Intermediate
    Sami: Intermediate
    Swedish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have a flat with 2 bedrooms and you will have your own room with shared bathroom. This is beautiful area of Helsinki, very close to sea and forest. By tram you catch the citycenter in 15 min.

    I provide breakfast and supper. In those days when you cook the lunch, we´ll enjoy it together.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I speak Finnish and I'm able to have simple conversations in English. I would like to improve my English. I understand some Swedish.
    The most important: you may study and do your hobbies.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3-4 a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 814661153439