Come help me with gardening and applying permaculture in Friuli–Venezia Giulia, Italy

  • Italy
  • Favourited 159 times
  • Last activity: 2 Oct 2023



 Min stay requested: No minimum



  • Description


    Hi, my name is Silvia. I work in a vegan restaurant, I am an educator with children
    at school, plus I am a massage therapist, I sometimes practice yoga and meditation, I used to be an educator in mental health field, and I have lots of interests: holism, education, personal growth, permaculture, massage, celtic tradition, mythology, music, DIY, self-production, other cultures, cooking, natural building, plants, traveling...
    I live in an old house, that I share with a friend who isn't here most of the time, and a separate piece of land that I would like to transform in a vegetable garden and a food forest (at the moment is covered in weeds). The house is in Ragogna, not far from San Daniele (10 minutes by bike), and half an hour drive from Udine where you can catch trains to Venice or Austria; my town is not so easy for moving with public transport, but I can provide a bicycle and a lift if I am at home.
    I'm gonna need help in some works in the garden (growing vegetables, planting some trees, removing some plants...) and in the daily routine, some maintenance, wood chopping, nothing really heavy.

    In exchange, I can provide 2 meals (or food to cook on your own) and a quiet place to stay, perfect for students and people who like silence and nature. I work a lot at the moment, so I don't have much time to spend at home.
    When I don't work, I can show you the beauty of my Region: the old towns of Cividale, Gemona, Venzone; some rivers and lakes, lots of different landscapes, and the sea is not far.
    I don't have TV, and the connection is not so good, but this helps me using less technology and more body.

    I am mostly vegetarian, trying to go vegan, so you won't find meat, but you can buy and cook some if you need.
    At the moment I cannot provide a private room, but you can have a sofa-bed in the shared room or we can create your private space in a little room.
    Smoke and alcohol are ok, in reasonable doses (you can smoke outside the house).

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Friuli is a beautiful region, few foreign travelers have the occasion to visit: historical sites (Medieval, Roman, Langobard...), amazing landscapes (woods, lakes, rivers, sea...), Austria and Slovenia are very close; we have incredible food (frico, the famous ham of San Daniele and Sauris, wines...).
    You can learn from me how to make soap, or home made marmelade, or picking wild herbs to cook.
    I can bring you around, if you want to enjoy local life and I am at home, but I also need time and space to do my things.
    I attended many practical courses (e.g. straw plastering, building a cob oven...) and taught some (soap making, ecoprinting...), so we can exchange knowledge.

  • Help


    I would like to host some friendly people who are willing to share time and energies helping me with the house and garden: no children to babysit, no big works to do, just regular maintenance, gardening, maybe move some furniture and paint some walls, but also lots of free time. If you are skilled in DIY or you have construction abilities, that would be great.
    From my place you can walk to a little lake, to the main hill (which is called "mountain" by the locals) and the river is not far.
    I'd rather have workawayers for short periods (1 week or less), that can be extended.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    German: Beginner
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    At the moment I share the house with a friend, who is around only sometimes. You need to be flexible, we have sofa-bed, single bed and other ways to accomodate you, we can decide together; food will be provided 2 times a day, and you can use the kitchen and fridge

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I am the main resident, there is another person but he's at home only sometimes, and I often have friends around. I work in shifts, so I don't have regular times I will be at home. I expect my guests to be independent. There are no many buses to go to Udine. I will lend you a bicycle. If I'm home i can give you a ride.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 814618973858

Feedback (3)